Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal has emerged Speaker of the House of Representatives in a keenly contested race  between him and Mulikat Akande-Adeola.

Tambuwal, the former deputy whip, scored 252 votes to Akande-Adeola’s 90 votes. The total votes cast was 340 with eight invalid votes and one member abstaining.

Tambuwal’s nomination was made by Rep. Emmanuel Jime ( PDP-Benue) and seconded by Rep. Nnenna Ukeje (PDP-Abia).

Tambuwal, 45-year-old lawmaker and lawyer, represents Kebbi/Tambuwal federal constituency of  Sokoto State.

The new Speaker was elected into the House for the first term in 2003.

The election which was conducted through an open secret- ballot system was handled by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Alhaji Salisu Maikasuwa.

Also, Rep. Emeka Ihedioha (PDP-Imo), the former chief whip of the House of Representatives was elected Deputy Speaker unopposed.

Ihedioha like the speaker was elected into the House in 2003.

Rep. Musa Adar (PDP-Sokoto),the former chairman, House of Representatives committee on electoral matters nominated him while Rep. Friday Itulah seconded.

Vanguard had yesterday, reported that Tambuwal had the support of majority of  members, who were bent on torpedoing the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) zoning formula, which ceded the post to the South-West geo-political zone, Akande-Adeola (from the South-West) was said to be enjoying the backing of the Presidency at press time. (yesterday).


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.