Governor Ikedi Ohakim and Chief Rochas Okorocha, and other gladiators in the Imo State governorship race are returning to the battle field on Friday, May 6, in four local government areas and one ward to determine the winner.

The commission, yesterday, ruled Tuesday’s election in the state inconclusive, and made supplementary polls in Ngor-Okpala, Mbaitoli, Oguta and Egbema local government councils, and Orji ward in Owerri North.

Rocha and Ohakims’ battle extended

The decision was the outcome of an emergency meeting at the INEC National Headquarters to review the situation which had thrown the state into tension since Wednesday.

Results of governor elections held in other states on the same day have been released.

INEC in a statement at the end of yesterday’s meeting “urges all stakeholders to ensure the highest level of integrity and good conduct in the supplementary election to allow for smooth conclusion of the governorship poll”.

Chief Rochas of APGA was leading the pace with about 20,000 as at Wednesday based on results from other parts of the state.

The APGA and Ohakim’s PDP have been trading accusations over the stalemate.

Yakowa, Yuguda win

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has won the gubernatorial elections in Kaduna and Bauchi States bringing its haul of governors in the April general elections to 18.

The incumbent PDP Governor in Kaduna State, Mr. Patrick Yakowa got  a narrow victory in the rescheduled gubernatorial election conducted on Thursday with a total vote of 1,339,487 beating his Congress for Progressive Change, CPC challenger Alhaji Haruna Sa’eed Kajuru who got 1,114,987 in the polls that largely went along ethnic lines.

In Bauchi State with only one local government yet to return its votes, the PDP gubernatorial candidate Governor, Alhaji Isa Yuguda was in a comfortable lead with 662,258 votes. His closest challenger was the CPC’s Yusuf Tugar who, at press time, had scored 195,567 votes.

The Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN candidate Senator Baba Tela was third with 146,138 votes while Senator Nazif Gamawa, the All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP candidate had scored 93,731 votes from the results so far declared.

The official declaration of the results of the Kaduna election was yet to be done at press time. Saturday Vanguard learnt the declaration would be done during the curfew hours in the state capital which has been the scene of sectarian crisis.

There was some drama in some sections of the state yesterday during the collation of the votes from the local government areas when the CPC gubernatorial candidate Kajuru momentarily took the lead following the return of 115,070 votes  from Zaria in his favour as against the 24,140 votes scored by Yakowa.

Excited supporters of Kajuru  had taken to the streets in the major cities especially in the northern sections of the country celebrating the victory of their candidate.

However, their celebration was short lived as Kachia Local Government area shortly after returned 105,600 votes in favour of the PDP as against the 13,079 returned for the CPC.

The PDP won in 12 local government areas while the CPC won in 11 local government areas. Yakowa, a Christian won most of his votes from the Southern section of the state while Kajuru, an Hausa Fulani Muslim won in the largely Muslim populated northern section of the state.

In the contest in Bauchi Yuguda had taken a commanding lead as at press time over his rivals. Tuggar, the candidate of CPC and Nazif the ANPP candidate were humbled in their home, Gamawa Local Government area by Yuguda who dusted them polling 41,737 to the 16,684 scored by Tuggar and the 13,393 scored by Nazif.

Senator Tela, the ACN candidate equally lost at home in Katagum LGA polling only 18,900 to the 30,589 votes scored by Yuguda. The CPC also got 22, 229.

Top Posts & Pages


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.