Bauchi – Gov. Isa Yuguda of Bauchi State has been re-elected for another four years.

INEC, yesterday,  said the governor won the rescheduled Governorship election, held in the state on Thursday,with 771,503 votes.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer, Mr Muhammad Hamisu, said that Yuguda’s closest opponent, Alhaji Yusuf Tuggar of CPC, scored 238,426 votes, while Sen. Baba Tela of ACN came third with 157,237 votes.

The ANPP candidate, Sen. Suleiman Nazif, polled 102,093 votes in the election contested by 12 parties, INEC said.

Meanwhile, Hamisu announced that the election in Misau and Ningi local government areas were cancelled because of  some irregularities.

He said a total of 1,309,406 were cast in the election out of which  35,793 votes were rejected.

In a related development, PDP’S Adamu Gumba was declared the winner of the rescheduled Bauchi South Senatorial election.

Gumba scored 312,627 votes, while Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim of ANPP scored 114,281 votes, according to  the Returning Officer, Prof. Mansur Malumfashi.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.