November 17, 2009

Cyclists storm Lagos today for ECOWAS tour

All the 13 countries from the sub-region to participate in the 1st ECOWAS Cycling Tour are expected to arrive Lagos today ahead of Thursday’s flag-off of the championship.

Those who confirmed their arrival today to the Local Organising Committee (LOC) headed by Mr. Henry Ezike include, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Togo, Benin Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Senegal and Guinea.

Bashir Mohammed, Nigeria’s national cycling coach told reporters yesterday at the National Stadium in Lagos that the he was very optimistic of the calibre of runners the country has entered for the ECOWAS Tour.

“Our six cyclists arrived Lagos early hours today (Tuesday) from their camp in Jos. They are in good mood to do the country proud in the Tour,” observed the foremost cycling coach in the country.

Bashir said he was banking on the trio of Ajibade Quadri, Sani Abdu and Caleb Kalizibe to do the finishing job in the last leg of the Tour in Ghana.

“I know that Caleb Kalizibe, Ajibade Quadri and Sani Abdu can finish very well for us in Ghana. From the type of training we have under-gone in Jos, there is nothing to fear,” he noted.

Also in the fray for the trip are Afeez Bakare, Geofrey Kadot and Yahaya Abdullahi. “Kadot is very good in the attack while Yahaya is our secret weapon for the prime and young rider award category. We are going to use him to set the attack pace from the Lagos flag off,” stressed the coach.

A breakdown of the total 7million CFA prize money at stake will see winners take home handsome cash in seven categories. They include, Individual Classification, General Classification Per Point, Best Young Rider, Intermediate Sprint, Best Attack Rider, Team Classification and other consolation prizes.