July 10, 2024

Soludo swears in LGs TCC chairmen

Your treatment of traditional institutions dictatorial, youth group tells Soludo

The new Transition Committee Chairmen (TCC) of the 21 local government areas of Anambra State has pledged to support Governor Chukwuma Soludo to ensure that he actualises his vision of making Anambra a livable and prosperous state.

The committee chairmen made the promise shortly after they were sworn in by Governor Soludo at the state executive council chambers, Government House, Awka.

It will be recalled that Governor Soludo recently sent the names of the 21 TCC and councillors to the state House of Assembly for consideration, in fulfillment of section 208 of the local government law 1999 as amended (number 6 law of 2012), whose tenure will be for three months.

The lawmakers also confirmed councillors in the 326 wards of the state.

It was gathered that during the session of their confirmation by the House of Assembly, two councillor- nominees in Ogbaru and Nnewi South local government areas wards were not confirmed following  alleged petitions in their nomination by their various stakeholders.

The chairmen are Ifeanyi Chiweze (Anambra East); Fidelis Nnazo (Anambra West); Romanus Ibekwe (Anaocha); Chinedu Okafor (Awka South); Alphonsus Ofumele (Ayamelum); Chijioke Ozumba (Dunukofia) and Stanley Nkwoka (Idemili North).

Others are Chinedu Ononiba (Njikoka); Val Ezeogidi (Nnewi South); Franklin Nwadialo (Ogbaru); Anthony Nwora (Onitsha North); Casmir Nwafor (Orumba North) and Shedrack Azubuike (Orumba South).

Eight of them who were re-appointed include Chibuike Ofobuike (Aguata); Thankgod Aniagor (Awka North); Amaka Obi (Idemili South); Emeka Orji (Onitsha South); Anayo Orjiakor (Ihiala); Chris Obiora (Nnewi North); Chimezie Obi (Ekwusigo) and Emma Nweke (Oyi).