May 18, 2024

Bayer Leverkusen, five other teams unbeaten in one season

Bayer Leverkusen, five other teams unbeaten in one season

Bayer Leverkusen’s Finnish goalkeeper #01 Lukas Hradecky and his teammates celebrate with the Bundesliga trophy after the German first division Bundesliga football match between Bayer 04 Leverkusen and FC Augsburg in Leverkusen, western Germany on May 18, 2024. (Photo by INA FASSBENDER / AFP) / DFL REGULATIONS PROHIBIT ANY USE OF PHOTOGRAPHS AS IMAGE SEQUENCES AND/OR QUASI-VIDEO

Bayer Leverkusen on Saturday became the first team in Bundesliga history to go through an entire season unbeaten after a 2-1 home win against Augsburg extended their undefeated streak in all competitions to 51 games.

In the history of the sport worldwide, many teams have gone an entire league season without losing, such as Arsene Wenger’s Arsenal “Invincibles” of 2003–04.

Xabi Alonso’s side joined an illustrious group of teams who have gone unbeaten in a single season. 

Here are teams that completed a full season without tasting defeat in the league.

AC Milan (1991/92)

AC Milan ended the 1991/92 Serie A campaign without a single defeat under the tutelage of legendary manager Fabio Capello.

Fabio Capello succeeded Arrigo Sacchi and achieved an undefeated Scudetto victory with a recognizable squad comprising players such as Paolo Maldini, Carlo Ancelotti, and Marco Van Basten.

Milan played fantastic football, winning 22 games and drawing 12 out of 34 league matches. They scored 74 goals and conceded only 21. Their unbeaten streak of 58 matches, a Serie A record, led to three consecutive Scudetti.

Ajax (1994/95)

The Eredivisie, or Dutch National League, has largely been dominated by AFC Ajax or PSV Eindhoven, with the former claiming 34 trophies in Eredivisie history. Between 1994 and 1996, Ajax fielded a formidable lineup featuring players such as Edwin van der Sar, Edgar Davids, Clarence Seedorf, Patrick Kluivert, Frank de Boer, Ronald de Boer, Jari Litmanen, among others. 

This team embarked on an impressive 52-game unbeaten streak, securing the Eredivisie title twice, as well as winning the UEFA Champions League, the Intercontinental Cup, and the UEFA Super Cup, all in 1995.

Arsenal (2002/03)

Known as the ‘invicibles’, Arsene Wenger led one of the most talented squads in the history of English football.

The Frenchman led the side to Premier League triumph during the 2003–04 season, undefeated with a strong line-up of Jens Lehmann, Lauren, Sol Campbell, Kolo Toure, Ashley Cole, Gilberto Silva, Patrick Vieira, Robert Pires, Fredrik Ljunberg, Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry.

They managed 26 wins and 12 draws and were given a unique golden trophy in recognition.

Juventus (2011/12)

Antonio Conte’s Juventus team concluded a dream season in style, defeating Atalanta 3-1 on the final day to finish the season unbeaten with 23 wins and 13 draws. This victory secured the Serie A trophy for the first time since Alessandro Del Piero’s departure from the club.

Celtic FC (2016/17)

Brendan Rodgers’ team secured their sixth consecutive Scottish league title with an impressive record of 34 wins and just four draws. They scored 106 goals while conceding only 25.

Their incredible run saw them win the Scottish Premiership, Scottish Cup and Scottish League Cup for an unprecedented unbeaten domestic Treble.

Bayer Leverkusen (2023/24)

Bayer Leverkusen made history by becoming the first team to conclude its Bundesliga campaign without a single loss after its 2-1 victory against FC Augsburg on Saturday. They finished the season with 28 wins and six draws in 34 league matches.