February 24, 2024

Hardship relief measures: Sanwo-olu inaugurates 11-man special dispensation c’ttee

Vacant stool: Onikoyi descendants seek Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu's intervention 


.assures of effective implementation

By Olasunkanmi Akoni

Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Saturday, inaugurated members of the Lagos State Special Dispensation “Palliative” Advisory Committee.

Sanwo-Olu had on Thursday, released three-pronged intervention measures to mitigate economic hardship at a special media chat.

Sanwo-Olu, is the chairman, while the Deputy Governor, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat is the alternate chairman of the committee.

The governor, at the inauguration, held at the Lagos House, Marina, restated his administration’s commitment in ensuring proper monitoring and implementation of the interventions put in place to cushion the economic hardship currently being faced by residents.

Sanwo-Olu said the committee was to advice and put forward ideas to create an ecosystem that would be engaging and rewarding for residents.

He said members of committee
on the interventions, include some cabinet members as well as various stakeholders, who were religious leaders and bipartisan groups which cut across political parties, Activists, among other personalities.

Sanwo-Olu, said members of the committee were identified and selected for ease of communication and reportage as they had their introductory meeting to deliberate on the rules of engagement on the interventions.

Other members of the committee are: Imam Abdulazeez Onike, Chief Missioner, NASFAT, Seyi Sowunmi, a Labour Party, LP, member House of Representatives, Mrs Joe Okei-Odumakin, Chairman of Conference 57, comprising chairmen of Local Governmentscand Local Council Development Area, LCDA, Kolade Alabi, former Secretary of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Barrister Taofeeq Ganiu, Dr. Shina Fagbenro-Byron, LP member, former DFID official, Ademola Shabi, member House of Representatives, and Comrade Biliaminu Oba, a youth representative.

Mrs. Sola Salako-Ajulo (Consumer Rights Advocate) and Pastor Gorman Akinlabi, a Senior Pastor, Elevation Church, and Mrs. Kikelomo Bolarinwa, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government as Secretary of the committee.