AFCON 2023

January 7, 2024

Musa to wear No.7, Osimhen No.9: Super Eagles AFCON 2023 shirt numbers revealed

Musa to wear No.7, Osimhen No.9: Super Eagles AFCON 2023 shirt numbers revealed

The numbers players of the Super Eagles will have on the back of their jerseys during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations have been revealed.

Captain Ahmed Musa retains his trademark No.7 and Victor Osimhen sticks to his No.9.

Recall 25 players were named in the final squad for AFCON, with Yusuf Alhassan replacing the injured Wilfred Ndidi.

24 of them are currently training in Abu Dhabi, with recovering Kelechi Iheanacho set to join them in Lagos on Tuesday.

The Confederation of African Football revealed the squad numbers for the Super Eagles and the 23 other teams last night.

The players will wear their assigned numbers throughout their teams’ stay in the tournament.


  1. Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus)
  2. Ola Aina (Nottingham Forest, England)
  3. Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)
  4. Alhassan Yusuf (Royal Antwerp, Belgium)
  5. William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece)
  6. Semi Ajayi (West Brom, England)
  7. Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey)
  8. Frank Onyeka (Brentford, England)
  9. Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Italy)
  10. Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)
  11. Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy)
  12. Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce, Turkey)
  13. Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista, Portugal)
  14. Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)
  15. Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)
  16. Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba, Nigeria)
  17. Alex Iwobi (Fulham, England)
  18. Ademola Lookman (Atalanta, Italy)
  19. Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain)
  20. Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista, Portugal)
  21. Calvin Bassey (Fulham, England)
  22. Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey)
  23. Stanley Nwabali (Chippa United South Africa)
  24. Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)
  25. Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium)

Vanguard News