Muslim News, has named “The Hijab Vanguards” as winners of the 2021 Nigerian Muslim Personality of the Year (MNAwards) category.

In a press statement released on Friday, October 14, 2022, the Publisher, Muslim News, Alhaji Rasheed Abubakar, said: “This year, we are recognising twelve (12) outstanding Muslim personalities from different organisations and institutions that contributed to the Hijab victory at the Supreme Court of Nigeria. They are called “The Hijab Vanguards”.

According to him, the Hijab victory recorded on Friday, June 17, 2022, was admittedly the biggest milestone achievement recorded by the Nigerian Muslim community in recent times.

Already, 12 personalities representing different organisations and institutions have been shortlisted as the Hijab Vanguards.

These include Ms. Asiyat AbdulKareem, the molested student who dragged the Lagos State government to court; Barrister Hassan Fajimite, a Muslim lawyer who led Muslim Lawyers Association of Nigeria (MULAN), Lagos State Chapter, to the final judgment; Hajiah Basheeerah Majekodunmi, female President, Muslim Students Society of Nigeria (MSSN), Lagos State, who also joined the case and provided moral support.

Others are Prof Lakin Akintola, the Director of Muslim Rights Concern, MURIC; Hajiah Mutiat Orolu-Balogun of Hijab Rights Advocacy Initiative, (HRAI); former female President of the Federation of Muslim Women’s Association of Nigeria (FOMWAN), Hajiyah Halima Jubril; National President of Muslim Media Practitioner of Nigeria, MMPN, Alhaji Abdur-Rahman Balogun, and Sunday Editor, The Guardian newspaper, Alhaji Kabir Alabi Garba.

Hon. Saidu Musa Abdullahi, a lawmaker representing Bida/Gbako/Katcha Federal Constituency of Niger State, and initiator of the “Religious Discrimination (Prohibition, Prevention) Bill, 2021” and Hajiah Idayat Asiwaju, the hero of Hijab at school of Nursing, Igando, Lagos also made a list, while late Habeeb Idris, a victim of Kwara State Hijab saga and late Alhaji Gani Adetola-Kazeem, SAN, who led the battle from inception before he died in 2018, received posthumous awards for their efforts.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.