Ahead of the Mark D Ball Basketball Championship billed to commence on January 15, 2022 in Abuja, organiser has announced 16 teams for the basketball tournament, an increment from the 12 teams announced during the unveiling.

Secretary of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), Umaru Abdullahi, in a statement, explains that 16 teams were chosen because of the clamour from clubs to participate after being starved of championships/tournaments.

“Upon consideration of requests from clubs to participate in the Mark D Ball Championship, we (LOC) decided to increase the number of participating teams from 12 to 16. It is glaring that the appeal from clubs is due to a drought of basketball games for a long time, and we decided to increase the number to accommodate these requests,” Abdullahi stated.

He listed Air Warrior, First Bank, Delta Force, Sunshine Angels, Customs, Novena Queens, Kada Angels, Benue Princess and Plateau Rocks as teams selected for the championship.

Others are Mountain of Fire, FCT Rocks, IGP Queens, Taraba Hurricanes, Nasarawa Amazons, Hot Coal Sizzlers and Bayelsa.

Abdullahi’s statement added that all participating teams must adhere strictly to all COVID 19 protocols.

Mark D Ball Basketball Championship will dunk off at the indoor hall of the MKO Abiola Stadium on January 15, 2022.
Meanwhile, the Executive Director, Mark Sports Foundation and Initiator of Mark D, IGOCHE MARK in a chat with media men in Abuja, revealed that this year’s edition, having been improved from a tournament to a championship will be bigger and better than previous editions. The young sportprenueur has given an insight into the entertainment package for this year’s event to include music, dance, drama, pageantry and comedy. The Championship is billed to feature the very best of artistes, actors, actresses, comedians and celebrities thrilling fans to nonstop moments of unforgettable fun.

IG Mark has also revealed that artistes, entertainers and celebrities expected at the 2022 Championship will include 2face, Ice Prince, Magnito, Rayce, Mark Owie, Goya Menor, Jayn Phoenix, EmmaDrumz, Big Smart, Pastor Nicodemus, Alhaji Musa, MC Obobo and other top entertainers.
The event is in partnership with the Federal Ministry of Youth & Sports Abuja nd the Nigerian Basketball Federation, NBBF, the governing body for men’s and women’s basketball in Nigeria

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.