Breaking News

Lawan wins 2019 Zik Prize in leadership award

Kindly Share This Story:

…Dedicates the award to his distinguished colleagues in Senate

Chief of Staff to Senate President, Dr Babagana Muhammad-Aji

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan was on Sunday night awarded the 2019 Zik Prize in Political Leadership.

Lawan’s Chief of Staff, Dr Babagana Muhammad-Aji was at the impressive ceremony in Lagos to receive the award on behalf of the Senate President.

The organisers of the award, the Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre(PPRAC) said Lawan’s consideration was in recognition of his “long-standing dynamic service to the Nigerian state” and his “undying commitment to the entrenchment of democratic ideals in the Nigerian polity.”

In his acceptance speech which was delivered by Dr Muhammad-Aji, Lawan expressed his pleasure and delight to have been recognized for the prestigious award.

ALSO READ: Are women less corrupt than men?

The Senate President said the award would be dedicated to his Distinguished colleagues in the Senate who had remarkably risen above partisan differences to form a bond that is committed to the progress and development of Nigeria.

Lawan said the recognition was a result of the unwavering support that he enjoyed from his colleagues who resolved to be bipartisan from day one of the Ninth National Assembly.

“I consider the award as a further call to duty, not just from a personal point of view but on behalf of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the National Assembly in general,” Lawan said.

The Senate President, on behalf of his Distinguished colleagues, once again assured the nation that they would continue to put in their best in the onerous task of nation building.

ALSO READ: Venezuelans vote in elections boycotted by opposition

The Zik Price was set up in 1994 in honour of the first President of Nigeria, Dr Nnamdi Azikwe, to encourage and nurture leadership on the African continent and in the Diaspora.

Previous recipients of the prize include President Jerry Rawlings (1995), President Julius Nyerere (1997), Dr Nelson Mandela (2000), President Youweri Museveni (2003), President John Kuffour (2008), Alhaji Yayale Ahmed (2010), President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (2011), Aare Afe Babalola (2013), Hon. Yakubu Dogara (2015), Alhaji Ahmed Joda (2016), Chief Audu Ogbeh (2017) and Professor Ayo Ibidapo-Obe (2018).

Vanguard News Nigeria

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!