Breaking News

Breaking: Reps move to sanction police, DSS over refusal to arrest ministers, heads of agencies

Kindly Share This Story:

school-feeding funds

By Tordue Salem, Abuja

The House of Representatives on Tuesday, consolidated two Bills, seeking to penalise officers of the Nigerian Police and the Department of State Security, for failure to arrest and compel the appearance of Ministers and Heads of agencies, who fail to honour summons of the National Assembly.

Also read: Over $30bn needed to develop COVID-19 tests, treatments, vaccines ― WHO

The National Assembly is empowered by sections 88 and 89 of the 1999 Constitution, to Investigate all agencies and cause arrest, of those who do not cooperate with their enquiry on any issue.
The two Bills are entitled: A Bill for an Act to Amend the Legislative Houses (Powers and Privileges) Act, 2017 to Prescribe the Offence and Punishment for Contempt of Legislative Houses, to Provide Punishment on the Police or any other Law Enforcement Agent that refuses to Arrest any Person as directed by a Legislative House, to provide Exception to the kind of person to be compelled by a Legislative House, such as President, the Executive Governors and their Deputies, Diplomats and their agents, Representatives of International Organisations such as the United Nations, the African Union, the European Union, ECOWAS, and  “A Bill for an Act to Amend the Legislative House and Guarantee the Principle of Separation of Powers, and for Related Matters”.
Details later…

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!