July 30, 2020

Agribusiness: Gov Ayade constitutes 23-man c’ttee on AAD scheme

2023: I'll support Jonathan if APC presents him as flagbearer — Ayade

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River

To launch scheme Aug 24 in Calabar

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River.

The Governor of Cross River State, Prof Ben Ayade, has launched a 23-man Project Management Committee for the implementation of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, Accelerated Agricultural Development Scheme, AADS, in Cross River State.

This was contained in a statement signed by the Coordinator/Facilitator of the CBN Accelerated Agricultural Development Scheme, Cross River State, Prince Michael Nku Abuo, and made available to Vanguard.

According to the statement for purpose of clarity, the two agricultural focus of the state in line with the scheme are Palm plantation and Livestock (Poultry-Broilers and Layers).

READ ALSO: Agribusiness expert, Ejewere calls on regulatory agencies to address standard challenges

The statement reads in part, “In line with the guideline of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, in the implementation of the Accelerated Agricultural Development Scheme, AADS in all states in the federation and the FCT.

“His Excellency, Sen Prof Benedict Ayade, the Executive Governor of Cross River State has approved the constitution of a project management committee of the AAD Scheme in Cross River State to ensure the effective and even distribution of the 10,000 beneficiaries across the 3 senatorial districts and 196 wards of the 18 LGAs thus:

  1. Prof John Inyang, Hon Commissioner of Land
  2. Prince Michael Nku Abuo, State Coordinator of the Scheme
  3. High Chief Tony Udiandeye
  4. Hon Asuquo Ekpenyong Jnr, Commissioner of Finance
  5. Hon Okon Nyong Owuna, Commissioner of Agriculture
  6. Barr Alphonsus Eba, DG Due Process
  7. His Royal Highness, the Paramount Ruler of Bakassi
  8. Barr Mrs. Tina Agbo, Secretary to the State Government
  9. Rt Hon Marjorie Asuquo, Special Adviser Development Funding
  10. Mrs. Ajibike Agba, Special Adviser Community Enterprise Development
  11. Rev Fr Malachy Ephraim
  12. Mr. Kingsley Obasse, Management Consultant
  13. Mr. Oscar Ofuka, Special Adviser/Chairman of Cocoa Development
  14. Barr Mrs. Millioneth Okon, Legal Representation
  15. Hon Emmanuel Ndem, Chairman of Akpabuyo and Chairman of Chairmen Forum
  16. Hon Chris Ogar, State House of Assembly
  17. Mr. Paul Umoh, Director of ICT
  18. Hon Rita Ayim, Commissioner Ministry of Women Affairs
  19. Mr. Otu Otu Ita, SSA Fiscal Responsibility
  20. Hon John Ateh, Leader of CrAyadeoss River State Legislative Leaders Forum

READ ALSO: Agribusiness expert, Ejewere calls on regulatory agencies to address standard challenges

  1. Hon Joe Oshie Abang, Commissioner of ICT
  2. Hon Lebo Edu, Special Adviser Agriculture
  3. Amb Nkoyo Toyo, CEO Green Money

The statement also it made known that “In addition, the earlier inaugurated Local Government Coordinators are to form the Project Monitoring Committee of the scheme.”

Meanwhile, the statement disclosed that “His Excellency, Sen Prof Benedict Ayade, the Executive Governor will officially launch  the scheme in the state on the 24th of August, 2020 in Calabar at a venue to be communicated to all invited guests.”