February 1, 2020

Nigerian Government sets up committee to address US visa ban

Nigerian debt

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari

The Nigerian government has created a committee to address the issues that led to a suspension of US immigrant visas to its citizens, the president’s office said on Saturday.

Nigeria was among six countries, four of them in Africa added to a visa ban announced on Friday in a presidential proclamation.

US officials said the countries failed to meet US security and information-sharing standards, which necessitated the new restrictions.

READ ALSO: No more US permanent resident visas for Nigerians

“Nigeria remains committed to maintaining productive relations with the United States and other international allies especially on matters of global security,” the statement said.

Nigeria, the most populous nation in Africa, is the biggest country on the list whose citizens will be suspended from US visas that can lead to permanent residency.

The list also includes Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar.

The US government also said it will stop issuing “diversity visas” to nationals of Sudan and Tanzania.

Nigeria’s information minister told Newsmen they had no warning of their inclusion on the list before it appeared in the media.

Vanguard Nigeria News