Breaking News

Delta Assembly confirms Macaulay as Warri, Uvwie, Environs Devt Agency’s boss

Kindly Share This Story:

By Festus Ahon

ASABA—THE nominees whose names were forwarded last week for appointments into the Governing Board of the newly established Warri, Uvwie and Environs Special Areas Development Agency, has been confirmed by the state House of Assembly.

The House yesterday, during plenary  presided over by the Speaker, Chief Sheriff Oborevwori, confirmed the nominees for appointments into the Governing Board of the Delta State Capital Territory Development Agency.

Enugu airport upgrade gets inauguration c’ttee(Opens in a new browser tab)

The confirmation of the nominees for the various appointments followed two separate motions to that effect by the Deputy Majority Leader, Mr Oboro Preyor after the successful screening of the nominees by the House.

The motions were seconded by Chief  Peter Uviejitobor, representing Udu and Mr Asupa Forteta, Burutu 1 Constituency respectively.

For the newly established Warri, Uvwie and Environs Special Areas Development Agency, those screened and had their appointments confirmed include; Dr Joseph Otumara as Chairman, Chief Ovuozourie Macaulay as Director General, while Dr Sunny Ezonfafe, Mrs Amaka Egboro and Prince Kelly Otuedon are to represent the three senatorial districts of the state respectively.

The reconstituted Governing Board of the Delta State Capital Territory Development Agency has  Chief Ighoyota Amori as Chairman, Mrs Onyemaechi Mrakpor as Director General and  Ogbueshi Adizue Eluaka, Mr Blessing Adidi and Dr Isaac Wilkie as members.

Former Secretary to the State Government, Chief Ovuozourie Macaulay, Chief Ighoyota Amori, Mrs Onyemaechi Mrakpor, former member of the House, and Dr Joseph Otumara were accorded the privilege to bow and leave, while the Speaker commended their sterling leadership in the governance of the state.

The six members of the two agencies were also asked to take bow and go for  being part of the team of respected leaders.

Ugwuanyi inaugurates action cittee on Enugu Airport upgrade(Opens in a new browser tab)

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa had in a letter to the House said, the constitution of the Agency was in exercise of the powers conferred on him by Section Four (2A) of the law establishing the Agencies.

In a related development,  the House has screened and confirmed nominees into the reconstituted Local Government Service Commission.

The confirmed include Chief Joesph Otirhue as Chairman, Pastor Chukwuka  Greatman, first member, Mrs Katherine Ilolo, second member and Mrs Rose Asore as third member.

Motion for their confirmation was moved by the deputy Majority Leader, Oboro Preyor, seconded by Emmanuel Sinebe and adopted.


Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!