Breaking News

Edo Speaker inaugurates two more members-elect, as house swells to 11 legislators

…House gets principal officers

Two members-elect of the Edo state House of Assembly were on Monday, inaugurated by Speaker of Edo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Frank Okiye.

Edo State House of Assembl
Cross-section of outgoing and incoming members of the Edo State House of Assembly with their spouses, at a dinner organised by the state government, at Government House, Benin City.

The two newly sworn-in members are Hon. Sunday Ojiezele, representing Esan South East and Hon. Emmanuel Okoduwa representing Esan North East Constituency II.

They took the oath of office after completing due documentation and were formally inaugurated by Rt. Hon Okiye, Speaker Edo State House of Assembly.

This brings to 11 the total number of members of the Edo State Assembly, so far sworn-in, as at June 24, after the House was inaugurated on June, 17 with 9 members, to commence legislative business for the 7th Assembly.

APC rejects Bauchi, Edo inauguration of State Assemblies(Opens in a new browser tab)

During the sitting, the Speaker said that the inauguration was done after the members had completed documentation and to also prove to the world that they were not shielding anyone from accessing the House.

As Okiye emerges Edo House Speaker . . .(Opens in a new browser tab)

Addressing journalists, he said, “After the inauguration of the House, the sitting was adjourned to July 17, but exigences have necessitated the recall of members from their various committee assignments, reason being that it has become very necessary to demonstrate to the world that this House is not intended to shut out anybody.

“Last Friday, the Clerk of the House brought to my knowledge that two members-elect have completed their documentation. I immediately told them to come forward for inauguration, and issued a notice of this sitting where the members were inaugurated.”

He said the move was to encourage members-elect who are foot-dragging to complete their documentation, noting, “They should know that we were serious when we told them to complete their documentation and come forward to be sworn-in. As a matter of fact, this House has a responsibility to the people. We must hit the ground running. We have constituted our Principal Officers Council so that some decisions that need to be referred to the Principal Officers can now be done and the council can take decisions.”

At the sitting, the House ratified a letter from the Edo State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on the appointment of Principal Officers.

Upon ratification, the Assembly appointed Hon. Roland Asoro representing Orhionmwon South Constituency as House leader.

The House also appointed Hon. Henry Okhuarobo representing Ikpoba-Okha Constituency as Chief Whip; Marcus Onobun representing Esan West as Deputy House Leader and Hon. Nosa Okunbor as coopted member of the Principal Officers Council.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!