Breaking News

UPP congratulates Sanwo-Olu, urges him to run inclusive govt’

Kindly Share This Story:

The United Progressive Party (UPP) on Tuesday urged the incoming Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, to ensure opposition parties are carried along in the running of the state.

Chief Michael Okereke, the State Chairman of UPP,  in a statement in Lagos, said that a state could only succeed when all parties were involved in its organisation.

Mr Wale Ahmed,General secretary APC ;Mr Obafemi Hamzat Deputy Governor elect;Mr Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu Lagos state Governor Elect;Tunde Balogun ,APC Chairman Lagos state and Senator Musiliu Obanikoro.during the acceptance speech of the Lagos Governor elect at the APC Sectariat Acme Road ogba Lagos Sunday .PHOTO BY AKEEM SALAU

“Your Excellency, as we join the All Progressives Congress, other political parties and well-meaning Nigerians to congratulate and rejoice with you, we enjoin you, as the leader of all, to always remember your commitment to run an inclusive government.

“A government where all other parties will be involved in the affairs of the state, especially those who supported APC and his election bid.

“My party adopted President Muhammadu Buhari as the Presidential Candidate, and so did others.

“We wish that you will show sincerity of governance by including intelligent people from other parties to join in the smooth running of the state,’’ he said.

Okereke, the governorship candidate of UPP in the just concluded elections, pledged his party’s commitment to continuously help the incoming administration move to the next level.

He prayed God to guide and endow Sanwo-Olu with sound health and wisdom to serve as a governor that people adore.

30 governorship candidates in Lagos State withdrew from the March 9 race and endorsed Sanwo-Olu

The candidates under the aegis of the Forum of Governorship candidates in the state vowed to work for Sanwo-Olu’s victory at the polls.

Sanwo-Olu won in all the Local Government Areas in the state.

According to INEC, Sanwo-Olu scored 739,445 votes to defeat Mr Jimi Agbaje of the PDP who polled 206,141 votes, and other contestants.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!