By Emmanuel Aziken, Political Editor
Supplementary elections into the Senate are to hold in eight senatorial constituencies, it emerged yesterday as the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC delisted Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State as a senator-elect.

INEC Adhoc Staff arranging non sensitive material at Ward A’ Kofar Baru 003 Sakin Yara Polling Unit during the 2019 National Assembly and Presidential Elections in Daura, Katsina State on Saturday

The Imo State governor’s declaration as a senator-elect was voided by INEC upon the claim that the declaration was made under duress. Okorocha and his aides had been accused of coercing the returning officer, Innocent Ibeabuchi of the Imo West Senatorial District election to declare the outgoing governor as the senator-elect.

Supplementary elections are to also hold in Abia South, Imo North, Kogi East, Ondo South, Plateau South, Rivers East and Rivers West.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.