By Henry Ojelu
The Rector of Yaba  College of Technology, YABATECH, Engr. Obafemi Omokungbe and 11 other distinguished Nigerians have been announced as recipients of this year’s African Gold Merit Awards.

From right: Engr Femi Omokungbe, Rector, Yabatech; Dr. Engr. Oshinfala, Del. Rector(Admin) Yabatech, and the Registra.

Among the 11 persons that will receive the award along with Omokungbe are Atte Oloruntoba Timothy;  Barr. Benson Ndakara; Dr.  Samson U. Samson; CP. Tunde  Ladipo;   Dr. Samuel Fasana;  Hon. Valentine Buraimoh; Dr. Wahab Ademola Azeez; Chief Edirin Abamwa and Waltolye Maritime Company.

A statement released by Editor-in-Chief of the Africanwatch Media,  Mark Columbus Orgu said that recipients of this year’s award which will hold on March 30, 2019 at YABATECH were selected based on their outstanding contributions to the development of the country in their various fields of specialization.

Orgu said special guests of honour at the event, which will also feature a lecture titled: ‘Nigerians, where do we go from here…after 58 years of independence’, include Senator Anthony Adefuye; Gen. Oviemo Ovadje retd, OFR and Col. N. Shobo, retd, amongst others.

Orgu added that Omokungbe would chair the occasion while a retired Assistant Director of the Department of State Security Service, DSS, Mr. Dennis Amachree would be the guest speaker.

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.