Elections 2019 Updates

March 10, 2019

Guber election: APC in early lead in Nasarawa

APC chieftains in Lagos State and some of the party’s candidates contesting the upcoming elections at the Ikorodu mega-rally on Thursday

By David Odama
LAFIA – THE All Progressives Congress APC has cleared three out of the 13 local government councils in the state so far released

An All Progressives Congress Party (APC) supporter waves a party flag while celebrating initial results released by the Nigerian Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Kano, on February 25, 2019, two days after general elections. – Nigeria’s main opposition on February 25 accused the ruling party of trying to rig presidential elections, as the incumbent made early gains but monitors voiced concern about polling day problems, including dozens of deaths. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) accused the All Progressives Congress (APC) of President Muhammadu Buhari of colluding with the electoral commission in an attempt to “manipulate the results”. (Photo AFP)

The local government councils include: Wamba with a total score of 15, 706 vote to beat the closest PDP with 9, 333 while APGA with a total number of 1, 772.

Results released from Keana indicated that APC scored a total of 11, 759 votes, PDP got a total of 6, 579 votes while APGA got a total of 2, 869 votes.


Similarly, in Awe local government, APC scored 29, 443 votes to beat PDP which scored 9, 228 votes while APGA got a total of 1, 772 votes.

With the results so far announced by the three local government returning officers for Wamba, Awal Ibrahim, Bello Aisha Keana and Imam Akyede Awe and received by the returning officer, professor Abdullahi Bala, Vice chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Minna, shows that APC is early lead with a sweep of three local governments.

Meanwhile, the incumbent Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi has won his re-election in the last Saturday’s election as declared by the Returning Officer of Umaisha / Ugya State Constituency, Maji Ibrahim Ladan in toto Local Government Area of Nasarawa State.

The Speaker who is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the election with 7,358 votes to defeat the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) Yahaya Ohinoye Usman who scored 3,339 votes.