Breaking News

Election: INEC declares APC candidate winner of Ijebu-Ode State Constituency

jebu-Ode (Ogun) – Mr Kemi Oduwole of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Ijebu-Ode State Constituency seat in the Ogun State House of Assembly elections of March 9.

A man places his ballot paper in a ballot box at polling unit in Lagos on March 9, 2019. – Nigerians are voting for a second time in a fortnight in governorship and state assembly elections, with heightened concerns from observers of violence and an increased military presence. Elections for governors are being held in 29 of Nigeria’s 36 states, for all state assemblies, plus the administrative councils in the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja. (Photo AFP)

Declaring the results of the election on Sunday in Ijebu-Ode, Dr Oluseye Onabanjo, the Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC) Returning Officer said Oduwole satisfied all requirements of the law.

Buhari wins in Ogun with 14 LGAs

Oduwole, with 10,180 votes, defeated his closest rival from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Azeez Ogedengbe who polled 8,152 votes.

Former House of Assembly Deputy Speaker, Tola Banjo of the Allied People’s Movement (APM) came third with 4,283 votes.
Oduwole would be replacing incumbent, Hon. Wale Alausa of the PDP.

“Oduwole Kemi Olaitan of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Onabanjo said.

The total number of votes cast by the electorate from 11 wards in Ijebu-Ode was 27,166, number of total valid votes was 26,006 while 1,160 votes were recorded as void.

The total number of registered voters in Ijebu-Ode is 79,841. However, only 27,243 voters were accredited for the polls. (NAN)

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.