Breaking News

El-Rufai thanks Kaduna people after re-election

Kindly Share This Story:

Malam Nasir El-Rufai has thanked the people of Kaduna state, after he was announced Monday as the winner of the governorship election that took place on 9 March.

“Alhamdulillah! We campaigned vigorously on our record and continuously prayed for God to choose the best leader for Kaduna State even if that choice is someone else!! God has decided. We are grateful to over 1 million Kaduna voters through whom He made us the choice”, he wrote on his Twitter handle.

Announcing the result on Monday in Kaduna, the State Returning Officer, Prof. Muhammed Yahuza Bello said, El-Rufai, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, scored 1,045,427 votes to emerge winner.

Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, the Executive Governor of Kaduna State

He said the candidate, Alhaji Isah Ashiru of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 814,168 votes

“Bello said Malam Nasiru El-Rufai haven fulfilled all the requirements of the law, and scored the highest votes is hereby declared winner of the Kaduna State governorship election.””

Bello said the APC won in 14 LGs while the PDP won in nine LGs that make up 23 LGs in the State.

Gov. Tambuwal urges INEC to declare him winner of Sokoto guber poll

According to him, the APC won in Ikara,Kubau,Makarfi, Kudan , Giwa, Kauru and Soba local government areas.

The APC also won in Lere, Birnin Gwari, Kaduna North and Sabon Gari, Igabi, Kaduna South, Zaria LGs.

While the opposition PDP won in nine local government areas, including Kajuru,Kaura, Jaba, Kachia, Zango Kataf, Sanga, Kagarko, Jema’a and Chikun LGAs.

The results are as follows:

1.Ikara Local government



2.Kubau Local government



3.Kajuru Local government



4.Kaura Local government:



5.Makarfi local government:



6.Jaba Local government:



7.Kudan Local government:



8.Giwa Local government



9.Kauru Local government



10.Kachia Local government



11. Soba Local government



12.Sanga Local Government
APC 20,806
PDP 21,226
13. Zango Kataf Local Government
APC 13,448
PDP 87,546
14 Kaduna North Local Government
APC 97,243
PDP 27,665
15.Birnin Gwari Local Government
APC 32,292
PDP 16,901
16.Chikun Local Government
APC 24, 262
PDP 86, 251
17.Sabon Gari Local Government
APC 57,655
PDP 25,519
18.Lere Local Government
APC 71,056
PDP 45,215
19. Jema’a Local Government
APC 21,265
PDP 63,129
20. Kagarko Local government
APC 21,982
PDP 26,643
21.Kaduna South Local government
APC 102,612
PDP 31, 429
22.Igabi Local government
APC 102,035
PDP 37, 948
23.Zaria Local government
APC 111,014
PDP 35,356


The ruling APC, the PDP, PRP, SDP and APGA were most prominent among the Political Parties participated in the March 9poll in the state.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!