Breaking News

Buhari meets seven APC Govs in Aso Rock

Kindly Share This Story:

By Johnbosco Agbakwuru

ABUJA – PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday met behind closed doors with seven governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC, at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The President arrived the Presidential Villa at about 1pm on Tuesday after spending five days in his home town, Daura, Katsina state where he went to participate in the governorship and state assembly elections.

President Buhari with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Kebbi State Governor Atiku Bagudu as he receives in audience Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Some APC State Governors in State House on 12th Mar 2019

The agenda of the meeting was not made public and the governors did not talk to journalists when they finished, it is coming barely a day after the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC declared six governorship elections in the north inconclusive.

The INEC, had declared elections inclusive in six states that are stronghold of the APC except Benue and Sokoto whose Governors were elected on the platform of the ruling party (APC) before they defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

The states that have inconclusive elections are Benue, Sokoto, Kano, Plateau, Adamawa and Bauchi, while elections in Rivers State was suspended as a result of violence.

Five of the PDP governorship candidates that were leading in the elections according to the results declared by the INEC before the elections were declared inconclusive are Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue state, Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto state, Abba Yusuf of Kano, Umaru Fintri of Adamawa state and Bala Mohammed of Bauchi state, while Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau state who is seeking second tenure on the platform of the APC had higher number of votes against his opponent, Jeremiah Useni of the PDP.

INEC stated that the number of cancelled votes in the six states that elections were declared inconclusive were higher than the number the leading candidate has against his opponent.

2019 Elections, fossilised ancestors and riddles

The APC serving governors whose elections were declared inconclusive are Abdulahi Ganduje of Kano state and Jibrila Bindo of Adamawa state.

The Governors at the meeting were Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State, Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State, Abdulaziz Yari, Zamfara State, Abubakar Badaru, Jigawa State, Kassim Shetima of Borno State and Fayemi Kayode of Ekiti State.

Gov. Ambode congratulates President Buhari on re-election

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!