Breaking News

Drake, The Carters, Ariana Grande, others win big at Brit Awards

Kindly Share This Story:

American artistes, Drake , Ariana Grande, The Carters and others have emerged winners at the just concluded Brit Awards 2019.


The Brit Awards, oftentimes referred to as the Brits are the British Phonographic Industry’s annual popular music awards organized to celebrate the achievements of British and international artists and musicians over the last year.

Singer and songwriter, Ariana Grande won the award for Best International Female act while Drake won his second BRIT award for Best International Male.

The award for Best International Group went to The Carters (Beyonce and Jay Z).

Although Beyonce and Jay Z have both won BRIT awards as individuals previously, it was their first award together as a group.

However, British boy band, The 1975 were the big winners at the show, taking home the awards for best British group and album of the year.
Double award winners, The 1975

The awards were first held in 1977 and originated as an annual event in 1982 .

The name was originally a shortened form of “British”, but subsequently became an acronym for British Record Industry Trusts Show.

According to The BRIT Awards website, the list of eligible artists, albums, and singles is compiled by the Official Charts Company and submitted to the voting academy, which consists of over 1,000 members of the music industry, including the previous year’s nominees and winners.

Voters then use a secure online website to vote, and the voting is scrutinized by Electoral Reform Services.

Meanwhile, 2019 show which held at The O2 Arena, London was hosted by award winning comedian and actor, Jack Whitehall.

Awards were presented by Paloma Faith, Annie Mac, Suki Waterhouse, Khalid, Jared Leto, Liam Payne and Winnie Harlow.

Below is the full list of winners.

British album of the year
* WINNER: The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships
* Anne-Marie – Speak Your Mind
* Florence + The Machine – High As Hope
* George Ezra – Staying At Tamara’s
* Jorja Smith – Lost & Found
British female solo artist
* WINNER: Jorja Smith
* Anne-Marie
* Florence + The Machine
* Jess Glynne
* Lily Allen
British male solo artist
* WINNER: George Ezra
* Aphex Twin
* Craig David
* Giggs
* Sam Smith
British group
* WINNER: The 1975
* Arctic Monkeys
* Gorillaz
* Little Mix
* Years & Years
British breakthrough act
* WINNER: Tom Walker
* Ella Mai
* Idles
* Jorja Smith
* Mabel
Critics’ choice
* WINNER: Sam Fender
* Lewis Capaldi
* Mahalia
British single
* WINNER: Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa – One Kiss
* Anne-Marie – 2002
* Clean Bandit ft Demi Lovato – Solo
* Dua Lipa – IDGAF
* George Ezra – Shotgun
* Jess Glynne – I’ll Be There
* RAMZ – Barking
* Rudimental – These Days
* Siagla and Paloma Faith – Lullaby
* Tom Walker – Leave A Light On
British video
* WINNER: Little Mix ft Nicki Minaj – Woman Like Me
* Anne-Marie – 2002
* Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa – One Kiss
* Clean Bandit ft Demi Lovato – Solo
* Dua Lipa – IDGAF
* Jax Jones ft Ina Wroldsen – Breathe
* Jonas Blue ft Jack & Jack – Rise
* Liam Payne and Rita Ora – For You
* Rita Ora – Let Me Love You
* Rudimental – These Days
International male solo artist
* WINNER: Drake
* Eminem
* Kamasi Washington
* Shawn Mendes
* Travis Scott
International female solo artist
* WINNER: Ariana Grande
* Camila Cabello
* Cardi B
* Christine & The Queens
* Janelle Monae
International group
* WINNER: The Carters
* Brockhampton
* First Aid Kit
* Nile Rodgers & Chic
* Twenty One Pilots
Brits global success award
* WINNER: Ed Sheeran
British producer of the year
* WINNER: Calvin Harris
Outstanding contribution to music
* WINNER: Pink (NAN)
Edited by Ekemini Ladejobi


Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!