October 20, 2018

Resign now, Akwa Ibom State Corpers Forum tell Saraki



The Akwa Ibom State Corpers Forum (AKSCF)FCT Chapter has expressed its gross dissatisfaction at the uncultured, despicable parliamentary of the Senate president, Senator Bukola Saraki in his attempt to gag and silence the legitimate voice of Akwa Ibom people through Senator Godswill O. Akpabio.


President of the forum, Peter Ndiana-Abasi stated this in Abuja at a solidarity visit to Barrister Leo Ekpenyong on the occasion of his graduation and award of first class honours degree by Baze Universty, Abuja.

It could be recalled that on Wednesday, the Senate plenary was held amidst rowdiness over sitting arrangement when the former Senate Minority leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio, All Progressives Congress, APC, Akwa Ibom North West called for recognition to speak, but the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki refused him on the grounds that he cannot speak, using another Senator’s microphone.

Ndiana-Abasi said AKSCF is vehemently protesting and condemning this undemocratic attempt by the Senate president to silence the popular voice of the people expressed in the Latin maxim “vox populi, vox dei” the voice of the people is the voice of God.

“It is against this background that we at AKSCF demand the immediate resignation of the senate president because he has brazenly shown that he is a clog in the wheel of effective and true democratic practice in Nigeria”.

The forum at the same occasion also expressed their unalloyed support to Obong Nsina Ekere and assured the hosts of their willingness to massively support his gubernatorial race come 2019.

Barrister leo Ekpeyong while responding urged the corpers to eschew and discourage all forms of violence by imbibing the culture of tolerance, assured the forum that their solidarity would not go un noticed by the next governor of Akwa Ibom state.

He further tasked the forum to be wholeheartedly committed to the progress of Akwa Ibom state and also mobilise the youth of the state to vote in masses for President Muhammadu Buhari in the 2019 presidential election.