September 14, 2018

22 teams vie for prudent energy handball league star prize

22 teams vie for  prudent energy handball league star prize


By Solomon Nwoke

The second phase of Prudent Energy Handball league throws off on September 25, 2018 at the Row Park Handball courts with 22 teams comprising 12 male  and 10 female teams vying for the sponsors’ One Million Naira ( N1 Million) star prize for the winners in both male and female categories.


The five year-sponsorship deal which came into being last April with the main objective of  developing a virile and functional handball league in Nigeria has seen the once moribund sport come alive again  with players currently vying for honours at the African Under 18 and 20 Junior and Cadet Nations cup in Morocco.

Among the teams expected to be on parade in the male category include : Lagos Seasiders male team, Safety Shooters, The Defenders male team, among others.

In the female category, some of the teams competing include Safety Babes, the Defenders Babes, Lagos Seasiders, Imo Grasshoppers among others.

The runners-up and third place winners will get N750,000 and N500,000 apiece in both categories.

Speaking yesterday at the media parley, the Chief Executive Officer of Prudent Energy and Services Limited (PESL), Alhaji Abdulwasiu Sowami said they were moved to sponsoring handball as a sport because they realised that the sport in Nigeria is not well supported by government and private sectors

He said, “PESL is happy to partner with the HFN and will actively support, promote and help develop the handball league because we share common passion with the current HFN Board.”

Handball Federation President Sam Ocheho said, “our joy and hope is that as long as we continue like this and as long as we continue to do the right thing the podium at the world level will not be far away”.

The champions of this league will represent Nigeria at the African Club Championships slated to hold in Abidjan in October while the runners up will represent Nigeria at the African Club winners championship