Breaking News

LPPC confers SAN rank on 31 senior lawyers

Kindly Share This Story:

By Ikechukwu Nnochiri

ABUJA – The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, LPPC, yesterday, elevated 31 senior lawyers to the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria, among them, National Coordinator, Legal Defence Assistance Project, LEDAP, Mr Chinonye Obiagwu; Vice Chancellor of Lagos State University, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun and Attorney Generals of Lagos and Ondo States, Mosediq Kazeem and Adekola Olawole.

From left, Newly decorated Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Mr. Kehinde Ogunwunmiju, Mr. Suliman Usman, Mr. Oyetola Oshobi, Mr Ekeme Ohwovoriele and Festus Kayamo during their conferment as SAN at the supreme court in Abuja yesterday. Photo by Gbemiga Olamikan

The legal body took the decision at the end of its 133rd plenary session in Abuja.
The SAN rank is awarded as a mark of excellence to members of the legal profession that distinguished themselves as advocates and academics.

Privileges that accrue to holders of the rank who are regarded as members of the inner bar, include sitting at the front row in courts and having their cases called up first.

Secretary of the LLPC, Mrs. Hadizatu Mustapha, who briefed newsmen shortly after the body concluded its plenary session at the Supreme Court, disclosed that the 31 new SANS were selected from a total of 106 lawyers that applied for the rank.

She revealed that whereas 83 of the applications came from lawyers under the advocate category, 23 of them were from the academic category.

Mrs. Mustapha added that though two women applied, only one of them qualified.

Among the success applicants include the Director General of the Nigeria Law School, Prof. Isa Chiroma, Oba Maduabuchi, Essien Udom, Prof. Oluyemisi Bamgbose, Metong Urombo, Prof Wahab Egbewole, George Igbokwe, Emmanuel Achukwu, Kenneth Ahia, Louis Alozie, Adeyinka Olumide-Fasuki, Johnson Ojoro, Wole Agunbiade, Olayode Delano.

Others on the list are Tanimu Inuwa, Sonny Wogu, Prof. Offorinze Amucheazi, Adewale Atake, Ikhide Ehighelua, , Prof. Muhammed Akanbi, Cosmas Enweluzo, Ishaka Mudi and Olabode Olanipekun.

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen will swear-in the new SANs during the 2018/2019 New Legal Year of the Supreme Court scheduled for September 24.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!