Breaking News

Buhari okays appointment of 12 A-Court justices, 16 new judges

By Ikechukwu Nnochiri

ABUJA—President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday, approved the appointment of 12 new Justices for the Court of Appeal, nine for the Federal High Court and seven for the Federal Capital Territory High Court.

President Buhari

Appointment of the 28 judicial officers followed their recommendation by the National Judicial Council, NJC.

According to a statement signed by Director of Information at the NJC, Mr. Soji Oye,  the 12 new justices of the appellate court are Justice P. A. Mahmud, Justice F. O. Ojo, Justice I. A. Andenyangsto, Justice G. O. Kolawole, Justice B. B. Aliyu, Justice Ebiowei Tobi, Justice J. G. Abundaga, Justice A. S. Umar, Justice A. M. Talba, Justice A. M. Bayero, Justice A. M. Lamido and Justice M. B. Idris.

Those elevated to the Federal High Court bench are: Sunday Bassey Onu, Mrs. Adefunmilola Adekemi Demi-Ajayi, Peter O. Lifu, Obiora Atuegwu Egwuata, Sa’adatu Ibrahim Mark (Mrs), Mobolaji Olubukola Olajuwon, Aminu Bappa Aliyu, Tijjani Garba Ringim and Nkeonye Evelyn Maha.

Binta Mohammed, Modupe Osho-Adebiyi, Gaba Venchak Simon, Babangida Hassan, Akobi Iyabeni Anna, Samirah Umar Bature and Asmau Akanbi Yusuf were appointed Judges of the FCT High Court.

The statement disclosed that whereas the new justices of the Court of Appeal will be sworn-in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice W. S. N. Onnoghen, tomorrow, those appointed for the Federal High Court will be sworn-in on June 25, while swearing-in of the new judges of the FCT High Court will take place at the Supreme Court on June 26.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.