Breaking News

Obasanjo, Amosun, Osoba, others storm Ikenne for Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosunmu @ 70

By Daud Olatunji

ABEOKUTA—FORMER President Olusegun Obasanjo, Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State; former governors of the state, Olusegun Osoba, Otunba Gbenga Daniel and other eminent Nigerians, stormed the Ikenne, home of the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo to felicitate with Dr. Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosunmu, a former Nigerian ambassador to The Netherlands, who turned 70 years, yesterday.

Olusegun Obasanjo

Awolowo-Dosunmu was also conferred the title of Iya Ewe of Our Saviour’s Anglican Church, Ikenne-Remo, by the church.

The Archbishop of the Ecclesiastical Province of Lagos, Most. Reverend (Dr) Olusina Fape, in his sermon titled: ‘This is the Day of Joy’, said birthday is a time to appreciate God for the gift of life.

He said: “For our dear sister, this is the day that the Lord has made, the day is your birth, the 70th year of the same. That our sister has seen this day is by the grace of God. God has preserved your life as it is unto this day.”

Also, Amosun, who was represented by his Deputy, Mrs Yetunde Onanuga,  said: “the celebrant is one of the fruits of the sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo. We want to thank you for the numerous contributions to mankind. We acknowledge all that you have done and we said it is not by mistake that you are adding another feather to all the feathers you have already.”

Osoba and former Governor Niyi Adebayo hailed Awolowo-Dosumu as a brilliant woman and wished her more prosperous years ahead.

Dignitaries in attendance include the Secretary to the Ogun State Government, Mr. Taiwo Adeoluwa; the deputy governor of Osun State, Chief (Mrs) Titi Laoye-Tomori; former Commonwealth Secretary General, Chief Emeka Anyaoku and his wife, Bunmi, and Chief Ayo Adebanjo.

Others are the former governors – Dr. Olusegun Mimiko(Ondo)and Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan(Delta), the President General of Ohaneze Ndigbo,  Chief John Nwodo,the Founder, Latter Rain Assembly, Pastor Tunde Bakare and his wife; the Chief Judge of Ogun State, Justice Olatokunbo Olopade; Chief Idowu Sofola (SAN); Chief Ayo Adebanjo; Senator Mojisoluwa Akinfenwa; Senator Femi Okurounmu; Senator Kofoworoola Bucknor-Akerele.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.