Breaking News

NPFL slams ban on erring clubs

Nigeria Professional Football League Management Company, LMC has come down hard on various erring clubs in the NPFL league.

These clubs include Sunshine of Akure, Kwara United and Katsina United. This is just as IfeanyiUbah players have been left off the hook of a previous suspension.

Sunshine of Akure had three points from them for repeatedly breaching the rules of the game. These include monetary fines, playing without fans,  ban of use of home ground and an order to identify for prosecution, supporters cited for acts of breach of security and or interference with match officials.

Sunshine will also pay N1million to the LMC and N500,000 to the injured match official in addition to a further order to deduct additional three points from the club’s total for the season in case of a recurrence. The Club was given 48 hours to, in writing, submit to the decision or enter an appeal which if it loses will attract further sanctions.

And in other decisions, for engaging in physical confrontation after match day 8 in Ilorin, Coach of Kwara United, Maji Mohammed and Team Manager of Katsina United Ganiyu Adeleke have been charged for breach of the code of conduct for club officials.

Consequently, Maji Mohammed and Ganiyu Isiaka have been suspended from further participation and access to venues of all NPFL activities for the next ten matches.

Reprieve however, came for some players and officials of FC IfeanyiUbah who were last season banned for one year for violent conduct at the Confluence Stadium in Lokoja at the end of the 2016/17 Match Day 36 fixture.

The LMC notified the club that the ban has been lifted on condition of good behavior until the end of the season. The club officers are Chidi Nwogu (Secretary) and Obi Adirika (Kits Manager). The players are Isaac Loute, Wilson Elu, Godfrey Uchenna Jnr, and Michael Egbeta. Others are Kone Soumaila, Ngoma Loumba, Stephen Eze, Adeleye Olamilekan and Nkurwna Douglas.

In a related development, the LMC requested the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) to withdraw three match officials from further consideration for future NPFL matches for conducts capable of bringing the league to disrepute. They are the center referee, David Akure and assistant referees, Apine Emmanuel, and Lewis Owolana.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.