By Henry Umoru

ABUJA—AHEAD of the 2019 presidential election, South-South All Progressives Congress, APC, leaders and stakeholders, yesterday, converged in Abuja and unanimously adopted President Muhammadu Buhari as the choice of the zone for second term tenure.

President Buhari arrives Paris Ahead of the One Planet Summit in Francebuhari

To actualize this, the leaders of the party from the geo-political zone which comprises Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Edo and Rivers states, have inaugurated a South- South Presidential Campaign Committee with Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State as chairman, while other elected senators, members of the House of Representatives, states Houses of Assembly, among others, will serve as members.

The meeting which lasted for over three hours, started Tuesday night and ended in the early hours of yesterday, was held at the Abuja residence of former Governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole.

A communiqué at the end of the meeting was read by the National Vice Chairman of the APC South-South zone, Ntufam Etta.

The leaders, however, condemned in very strong terms, the letters written by former presidents, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo and General Ibrahim Babangida (retd), to President Buhari, saying that as leaders, they should have used the existing open lines of communication and dialogue.

Killings by herdsmen

The APC South-South caucus also condemned in very strong terms, the killings of Nigerians by herdsmen as they sympathized with the states, communities and families that have been affected and expressed confidence in the Presidential Committee headed by Vice  President Yemi Osinbajo to find a lasting solution to the problem.

The Communiqué  was signed by Godwin Obaseki, Oshiomhole, Mr Chibuike Amaechi, Minister of Transportation; Pastor Usani U. Usani, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, Minister of State, Petroleum; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Minister of State, Health; Senator Ita Enang, Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly (Senate); Senator Francis Alimikhena, Deputy Majority Whip; Senator Magnus Abe; Chief Don Etiebet and Mr Frank Kokori.

Also present at the meeting were Deputy Governor of Edo State, Philip Shuaibu; Speaker, Edo State House of Assembly, Kabiru Adjoto, Deputy Chief Whip, House of Representatives, Pally Iriase; Peter Akpatanson;  Ehiozuwa Agbonayinma; Chief of Staff to Edo State governor, Taiwo Akerele; Chairman, Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, Victor Ndoma  Egba and former governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva.

Also present were Senator Andrew Uchendu; former governor of Edo State, Professor Oserheimen Osunbor; former SSG, Edo State, Professor Julius Ihonvbere; former Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory Administration, FCTA, Senator John Akpanudoedehe; former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Prince Chibudon Nwuche; former Deputy Speaker, Delta State House of Assembly, Victor Ochei and former governorship aspirant, Umana Umana.

Others include Great Ovedje Ogboru; Senator Ehigie Uzamere; Lauretta Onochie; Dr. Cairo Ojuogboh; Senator Heineken Lokpobiri, Senator Domingo Obende, among others.

The communiqué read in part: “Recognising the very successful war against corruption, the effective degradation of Boko Haram, the very laudable agricultural and economic policies that have seen us out of recession, the continuing high regard for his person and leadership around the world that have promoted a bright new image for Nigeria, the credibility he continues to enjoy among the vast majority of Nigerians and among APC members, and the need for continuity in policy and programmes, the Caucus of the APC South-South Zone, unanimously adopted and endorsed President Buhari to run for a second term as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.