Breaking News

Victor Moses crash out of CAF POTY race as Mane, Salah, Aubameyang make final shortlist

Kindly Share This Story:

By Emmanuel Okogba

The wait for a Nigerian to win the CAF Player of the year award will linger on as Victor Moses who most pundits tipped to win the race have crashed out.

This was made known on Monday by CAF after the football body released the final shortlist for the award that did not include the Chelsea player.

On the final list are Liverpool’s duo of Sadio Mane (Senegal) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt) together with Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang who broke the goal scoring record in Germany last season.

Victor Moses was also tipped to win the BBC Player of the year but lost to Mohamed Salah.

The last Nigerian crowned African Player of the year was Kanu Nwankwo in 1999. The closest a Nigerian player has come since then was a second place finish by John Obi Mikel in 2013.



Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!