December 10, 2017

Lagos lawmaker seeks constitutional roles for traditional rulers

A Lagos lawmaker, Mr Victor Akande, on Sunday called for constitutional roles for traditional rulers to accelerate peaceful coexistence and national development.

Akande, who represents Ojo Constituency 1 in the Lagos State House of Assembly, made the call in an interview with nesmen in Lagos.

The lawmaker spoke on the sideline of the conferment of a chieftaincy title on him as the Otunba Amo Eto of Ojokoro by Oba Rilwan Oluwalambe of Ojokoroland in Lagos.

Newsmen report that Akande’s wife, Olaide, was also made the Yeye Amo Eto of the area.

According to him, the constitutional roles for the traditional institutions will also allow the royal fathers to effectively contribute to development in the society.

“As political office holders, we are going back to our communities and become subjects of the traditional institution, so we should respect the institution while in office,’’ he said.

He, however, urged traditional rulers to refrain from begging politicians for money to be relevant in the society.

“They should do what is right at all times and guide our traditional institutions jealously.’’

Akande, who is the Chairman, House Committee on Central Business District (CBD), also urged the constituted authorities to respect royal institution by preserving the cultural heritage.

He said the roles expected to be played by the traditional institutions under democratic setting were been underestimated.

Akande said Nigeria had not achieved sustainable development because government had not effectively harnessed potential of the traditional institutions.

He promised to do his best to represent the people of his community and contribute to the development of Ojokoro area.

The lawmaker urged the political class to do its best to promote harmonious living and better the welfare of the people.

Newsmen report that the ceremony was attended by several chiefs and residents of the area as well as members of the Lagos Assembly, led by the Speaker, Mr Mudashiru Obasa.