November 7, 2017

Elizaberth Wuraola golf tourney: Hole 13 winner to get f N 5m

Elizaberth Wuraola golf tourney: Hole 13 winner  to get f N 5m

By Solomon Nwoke
All roads lead to Smokin Hills Golf Resort Ilara Mokin, Ondo State this weekend as preparations towards the 14th edition of Elizabeth Wuraola Ojo Memorial Golf Tournament have continued to gather momentum as over 100 golfers  from across the country have signified interest for participation.

This year’s edition promises to be the best since the inception of the series as the Sponsors of the tournament, Toyota Nigeria Limited (TNL) have put in place mouth- watering incentives for the golfers and especially for the women, the Amiable Woman Of The Tournament.

According to the Public Relations and Advert Manager TNL,  Mrs Bukunola Ogunnusi, this platform is to further extol the virtue and vision of the deceased for the game of golf. She said, the prize is symbolic of the amiable nature of the departed woman of substance.

This year, the sponsors have staked the sum of N5 million prize for the winner of the Hole 13.

Equally, Bayo Aderinto, manager Marketing and Promotions, Smokin Hills Golf Resort in charge of the tournament said, Elizabeth Wuraola memorial golf tournament is one of the biggest events in the golf calendar.

He said, “ Elizaberth Wuraola Memorial Tournament  is one of the biggest events in the golf calendar. The momentum is high as there have been serious pressure from golf enthusiasts from across the country and even from some West African countries like Ghana wanting to play in the tournament, but the championship is only limited to invited golfers. We are expecting 100 golfers while already over 200 golfers have indicated interest to play at Smokin Hills Golf Course,

“ we expect golfers who are businessmen and doyens of diverse interest such as ; Prince Olagunsoye Oyinloloa, president Nigeria Golf Federation. Otunba Olusola Adekanola, Mogaji Kayode and Afolabi Ahmed Suleiman.

Others are two former captains of Ibadan Golf Club, Prince Larry Adeyemoand Moses Ojo. Others are Col. Ade Sunmonu, Umar Babangiga, Aptain Kano Golf Club and others. The Lady golfers are Grace Brown, Lady Captain, Ibadan Golf Club, Shade Ajala and Lady Captain Ogbomosho Golf Club.

“In line with the desire of  Chief Michael Ade. Ojo OON to make this year’s tournament more of women because the person in whose memory the tournament was instituted was a woman, out of the 100 golfers expected to play at the tournament, 20 are women as against five invited last year. Again, out of the total entries those that cannot be accommodated in this tournament will be given preference in other events to be organized by the club.

“ We are grateful to the contributions of the founder of the Smokin Hills Golf Club, Chief Ade. Ojo OON for moving the golfing capital to Ilara Mokin in Ondo State”.