Breaking News

2017 Ogun/GTBank Principals Cup: Gateway Grammar School, Pakoto High School are champions

Kindly Share This Story:

The GTBank-Ogun State Principals Cup (Season 5) wrapped up on an exciting note as Gateway Grammar School, Idiroko, and Pakoto High School, Ayede-Ifo emerged the female and male champions of the 2017 edition concluded during the week at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta.

Both teams won their matches via penalty shoot outs after a one all draw in regulation time.

The female final took the centre stage early in the day, when Muslim High School took on Gateway Grammar School in the opening match. It took the wizadry of Tolulope Kayode of Muslim High School to break the deadlock early in the first half.

Gateway Grammar School came back stronger after half-time, battling their opponents to a standstill with ferocious attacking football while their defenders showed resilience to ward off the equally skilful Muslim High School players. They got the equaliser late in the second half. The resultant penalty kicks went against Muslim High School as the winners converted four of their kicks as against 1 by Muslim High School.

The male final between Pakoto High School, Ayede-Ifo and Ipara Community High School, Ipara was no different as scores stood at 1-1 at the end of regulation time. The resultant penalty kicks went in favour of Pakoto High School, who won 3-2 to lift the coveted trophy.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!