Breaking News

Kano Assembly rejects ex ALGON chiefs, 12 others for council job

By AbdulSalam Muhammad
KANO – Former national President, Association of Local Government of Nigeria, Alhaji Ibrahim Ahmad Karaye, and his local chapter chairman, Mukhtar Ishak Yakasai were among several other nominees that failed Assembly screening for appointment as Interim Management Officer.

The two grass root politicians were employed as contract staff by Kano state Government shortly after serving out their three years tenure as chairman of Karaye and Kano municipal respectively.

Others that failed the Assembly screening are Architect Binta Fatima Yahaya, Rabiu Hassan, Haladu Ishak, Jaminu Muhammad Soba, and Ali Namadi Bebeji.

The 40 man Assembly disqualified the nomination of Sani Iliyasu, (Garko), Auwalu Isa Ahmad, (Fagge), and Shehu Muhammad Haza (Gwale)

A report by the chairman, House committee on local Government, Alhaji Abba Ibrahim Garko revealed that the nomination proposed by Garko contradict section 14sub section 4 of Nigeria Constitution.

The report obtained by Vanguard also revealed that both nominee for Fagge, and Gwale are not carrier civil servants.

He further said ” the committee verified all the request and found 33 out of 44 proposed nominee to be consistent with provision of local government law”.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.