By Omeiza Ajayi
ABUJA – The Federal Government has congratulated seven Nigerians who were recently elected into the United Kingdom Parliament.

This was disclosed in a statement issued Tuesday in Abuja and signed by the Assistant Director (Press) in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mohammed Nakorji.

The statement said “in a congratulatory letter to the Nigerian Parliamentarians in the UK, the Permanent Secretary (Political Affairs), Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Amb. Olukunle Akindele Bamgbose, stated that their victory was a tribute to their selfless service to their community and indeed humanity”.

Amb. Bamgbose said: “like most Nigerians, I have followed your career keenly, and I am confident that in you, your community has made an excellent choice considering your track record. Your election is heartwarming and will definitely be a source of inspiration to all Nigerians at home and in the Diaspora, particularly, women.” He concluded by saying that Government of President Muhammadu Buhari and indeed, Nigerians, were proud of their achievement.

The seven Parliamentarians Kate Osamor, Chinyelu Onwurah, Chuka Umunna, Fiona Onasanya, Bim Afolami, Helen Grant and Olukemi Olufunto Badenoch.

Subscribe for latest Videos


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.