April 28, 2017

NUJ honours gov Amosun, others for outstanding achievement in leadership


•Amosun: Ogun governor

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun has bagged the “Governor of the Year’’ award for 2016 for his outstanding achievement in leadership and infrastructural development.

The award was conferred on the governor by the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) at an “Award Night and Investiture of the Governor of the Year’’ to mark NUJ at 62.The event held at the Sheraton Hotels, Abuja.

Presenting the award to the governor, NUJ President, Abdulwaheed Odusile said the award was to recognise people that had excelled in their callings as well contributed to the development of the society.

“Today’s award is in two categories, Leadership Award and Entrepreneurship Award. For leadership award, we look at people in government who have discharged their mandate credibly.

“For the entrepreneurship award, we look at those in the private sector that have contributed immensely to the development of the society.

“Sen. Amonsun is our choice for leadership because he has successfully rebuilt Ogun state.

“For the entrepreneurship category, Dr Benoy Berry of CONTEC GROUP is going home with the NUJ Outstanding Achievement Award for his investment in agro-allied business,’’ he said.

Responding on behalf of the awardees, Amosun commended the NUJ, adding that the award was a call to do more.

“I take this award as a challenge by the NUJ for me to do more. This award is not for me alone but for the people of Ogun state.

“The nation cannot be built without the support of everybody, that is why I am happy with this award,’’ he said.

Earlier, the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mohammed Bello said he was happy to be associated with the event and promised to support journalists practicing in the territory.

Bello, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, FCTA Administration, Ajakaiye Babatope congratulated the recipients for their award.

He expressed the hope that leaders, industrialists and entrepreneurs would emulate the outstanding qualities of the recipients in order to attract similar recognition in future.

The ceremony was attended by Otunba Segun Runsewe, the Director-General, National Council for Arts and Culture, top government functionaries from Ogun, and a representative of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) among others.