Breaking News

#WorldConsumerRightsDay: Saraki, Ambode, Elumelu, others win awards

As the world observes World Consumers Rights Day, President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki; Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode; Founder, Tony Elemelu Foundation, Tony Elumelu and seven others were on Wednesday (today) honoured by Consumersng, an online consumer rights advocacy platform for their unwavering support towards acheiving a stable economy in the outgone year (2016).

Each year, Consumersng recognizes individuals, organizations and governmental bodies who have demonstrated strong commitment to serving Nigeria while maintaining a global mindset.

The World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) was started in 1983 and is an awareness day which is observed on March 15. It is celebrated annually to instigate action among citizens for the international consumer movement. The theme for this year is ‘Building a digital world consumers can trust’.

Highlighting the rationale for the choice of the awardees, the group said Saraki is being conferred with a leadership award for the several pro-people roles played by the 8th assembly under his leadership.

Saraki, Ambode & Elumelu

Meanwhile, Lagos governor, Ambode and his counterpart in Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu, were both chosen for the agricultural business relationship between the two states which apart from feeding several homes kept thousands of Nigerian farmers in Kebbi employed at a time the country is in dire need of a boost in local production/consumption.

Philanthropist, Tony Elumelu was honoured having touched many lives through his Tony Elumelu Foundation (TEF), one of the largest private philanthropic organizations in Africa; Chairman Ifeanyi Ubah FC, Dr. Ifeanyi Ubah, was recognized for “his exemplary leadership and roles in the improvement of Nigeria’s league games.”

Others are; Managing Director, Eko Electricity Distribution, Oladele Amoda , celebrated for  “his timeless efforts and roles in corporate leadership .” Also on list of the Consumersng’s top 10 outstanding personalities award is the Mr. Roomans Jacques, President, Seatruck Group, who is being rewarded for his gallantry efforts in developing local content (oil and gas).

Young entrepreneurs, Sijibomi Ogundele of Sijimoto Construction Company; Dr. Nasko Ibrahim, CEO HMG Group  and Mr. Suleiman Yusuf, CEO, Blue Camel Energy Ltd; were all rewarded for their unwavering support towards employment creation and contributing immensely towards achieving a stable economy.

Announcing this year’s awards the Chairman, Consumersng Awards, Anefiok Akpan said:  “The award is to encourage leaders and organizations to continue to be forces for positive change and to inspire solutions to some of the prevalent issues faced by the country. The award goes to someone who has built bridges.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.