Breaking News

EFCC to arraign ex-Chief of Air Staff, MD Umar Wednesday

Kindly Share This Story:

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Tuesday, announced that it will be arraigning a former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Mohammed Dikko Umar before Justice Binta Nyako of the Federal High Court, Abuja, tomorrow (Wednesday, May 11, 2016).

Ex-Chief of Air Staff, M D Umar Dikko
File: Ex-Chief of Air Staff, M D Umar Dikko

The EFCC in a post on its official Facebook page said: “Former Chief of Air Staff M D Umar Dikko to be arraigned by the EFCC tomorrow, Wednesday, May 11, 2016, before Justice Binta Murtala Nyako of the Federal High Court, Abuja.”

Air Marshal Umar was Nigeria’s Chief of Air Staff between 2010 to 2012.

Recall that on January 15, 2016, President Muhammadu Buhari  gave the anti-graft agency the green light to establish the scope of the culpability of the immediate past Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), Air Chief Marshal Alex Sabundu Badeh, former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Mohammed Dikko Umar (2010 -2012) and the immediate past Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Adesola Nunayon Amosu, in alleged fraudulent arms purchases for the Air Force between 2007 and 2015.

Also lined up for investigation by the anti-graft agency are 14 other retired and serving military officers and 21 firms said to have been awarded the contracts.

The companies have been traced to associates and relatives of some of the suspects.

A committee on the audit of defence equipment has confirmed that Nigeria spent about $2billion and another N29billion on NAF procurement alone during the period in question.

Malam Garba Shehu,Senior Special Assistant (Media and Publicity) to the President, gave the names of those to be investigated as:

(1) Air Chief Marshal A.S. Badeh (Rtd)

(2) Air Marshal M.D. Umar (Rtd)

(3) Air Marshal A.N. Amosu (Rtd)

(4) Maj-Gen. E.R. Chioba (Rtd), former Director General, Defence Industry Corporation of Nigeria (DICON)

(5) AVM I.A. Balogun (Rtd)

(6) AVM A.G. Tsakr (Rtd)

(7) AVM A.G. Idowu (Rtd)

(8) AVM A.M. Mamu (NAF Chief of Administration)

(9) AVM O.T. Oguntoyinbo (former Director of Production, Defence Headquarters)

(10) AVM T. Omenyi (MD, NAF Holdings)

(11) AVM J.B. Adigun (former Chief of Accounts and Budgeting)

(12) AVM R.A. Ojuawo (Air Force Tactical Air Command, Makurdi)

(13) AVM J.A. Kayode-Beckley (Director, Armament Research in Air Force Research and Development Centre)

(12) Air Cdre S.A. Yushau (Rtd)

(13) Air Cdre A.O. Ogunjobi

(14) Air Cdre G.M.D. Gwani

(15) Air Cdre S.O. Makinde

(16) Air Cdre A.Y. Lassa

(16) Col N. Ashinze (Special Military Assistant to former NSA Sambo Dasuki)

(17) Lt Col. M.S. Dasuki (Rtd).


Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!