Breaking News

Osun shuts 5 federal agencies over N220m tax

By Gbenga Olarinoye

OSOGBO—Osun State Internal Revenue Service OSIRS has shut five federal establishments in the state over non-remittance of taxes due to the state government totaling about N220 million.

The defaulting federal establishments include Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation NNPC, Retail Mega Station in Osogbo, Bank of Agriculture, Osogbo branch, National Centre for Technology Management NACETEM, Obafemi Awolowo University OAU, Ile-Ife, African Regional Centre for Space Science Technology, OAU, Ile-Ife and International School, OAU campus.

The Acting Chairman/Chief Executive Officer, Osun State Internal Revenue Service, Mr. Dayo Oyebanji who led the revenue team to the affected establishments said the revenue service took the action after it had secured court injunction to carry out the exercise in accordance to the relevant law of the land.

According to him; “The establishments were sealed in pursuant to the provisions of Section 104 of the Personal Income Tax Act 2004 as amended in 2011.”

Oyebanji also warned other federal establishments that were yet to join Integrated Personnel Pay Roll System IPPIS to do so and pay up their PAYE debt to the state.

Those he said were yet to join IPPIS pay roll system included FERMA, INEC, NSCDC, NECO, Nigeria Prison Service, NPS, and Nigeria Customs Service, NCS.’’


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.