Breaking News

Learn Africa rewards best NECO candidates

Kindly Share This Story:

By Dayo Adesulu

In its quest to encourage hard work among secondary school students, Learn Africa Education Development Foundation has rewarded best NECO candidates at the 2015 National Examination Councils.

The duo, Justin Nwaoha of Isolog College, Ojodu and Taofeek Adelaja from Isolog College, Alagbole, Akute were rewarded N40,000 each and certificates of excellence.

Temitope Folorunsho who emerged second was from Ota Total Academy, Ogun State; and Kenechukwu Okuze of Apostolic Faith Secondary School, Anthony, Lagos State, were rewarded with N30,000 each.

Just as Paul Ofili of Jextoban Secondary School, Ketu, Lagos who was rewarded with N20,000 came third. Meanwhile, the teachers that produced the best candidates in each state were also rewarded with N40,000 each.

“They were instituted to underscore the significant role that excellence in education can play in achieving our national goals and aspirations.

‎In his address, the Managing Director, Learn Africa Plc, Mr Segun Oladipo said: “The objective is to underscore the ‎Importance of excellence in education to our national development as well as encourage hard work, diligent scholarship and healthy competition.”

He said he is optimistic that the awards will encourage strong commitment to learning, celebrate diligent scholarship and healthy rivalry among students.

According to him, there were two categories of awards – National and State. The national awards will go to the overall best three candidates as follows;· Alabi Philip Toluwase of Our Lady & St Francis Catholic College, Osogbo, Osun State (1st position); Nwaoha Justin Ifeanyi of Isolog College, Ojodu, Lagos State (2nd position) and Babalola David Oluwasayo of Oritamefa Baptist Model School, Ibadan, Oyo State (3rdposition).

Regarding state awards, 111 candidates consisting of the three best performing candidates in each state and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja will be recognized and receive exciting prizes during the presentations.

Oladipo who noted that the three best performing candidates in each state will collect their prizes in 13 zonal centres across the country pointed out that one teacher from the school of the first prize winner in each state will receive special recognition during the event in appreciation of their great contributions to the students’ success.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!