Breaking News

Buhari swears in new INEC officials on Monday, Ministers on Wednesday

By Levinus Nwabughiogu
ABUJA – New National Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu alongside the 5 national federal commissioners would be sworn in Monday.

The 5 commissioners included Mrs. Amina Zakari, Mr. Solomon Adedeji Soyebi, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Dr. Muhammed Mustafa Lecky and Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo.

The ceremony which will hold at the Council Chamber in the presidential villa is slated for 11 am. on Monday

Similarly, the ministers-designates will also take their oaths of office in the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa on Wednesday.

On that day, President Muhammadu Buhari will officially preside over the first Federal Executive Council.

A statement by the Special Adviser to the president on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina on Sunday stated that “the swearing-in ceremony will begin promptly at 10:00 hours and the ministers-designate are expected to be seated in the Council Chambers by 09:30 Hours at the latest.”

Meanwhile, each minister-designate is advised only be accompanied to the swearing-in ceremony by a maximum of two guests.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.