October 20, 2015

See 114 roads that’ll cost Lagos N19bn

See 114 roads that’ll cost Lagos N19bn

INSPECTION: Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State (middle) with the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Tunji Bello (2nd right) and member, Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Bisi Yusuf (left) during the Governor’s inspection of Ayetoro road, Ipaja-Ayobo, yesterday.

By Ikenna Asomba 

Poised to fulfill one of his campaign promises of investing massively in the construction of rural roads, the Lagos State Government has announced invitation for bids for the construction of 114 roads across the 20 Local Governments and 37 Local Council Development Areas in the State.

Recall that last Monday, while speaking at the Lagos House, Ikeja, during the monthly meeting with the Executive Secretaries of the 57 Councils to review the progress report in their various communities as well as their challenges, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode had disclosed that the decision to embark on the road rehabilitation was in line with the reforms at the local government level, noting that the first phase will commence with the reconstruction of 114 roads, two per local government, at the cost of N19 billion.

Ambode, who said the execution of the projects will be left in the care of the local governments, however, charged the Councils’ Executive Secretaries to judiciously ensure that the projects meet international standard.

According to the bidding invitation document sighted by Vanguard, each of the roads are to be delivered in six months from the commencement of works.

Meanwhile, residents of Ajegunle, a popular suburb of Lagos in the Ajeromi-Ifelodun Local Government Area, have decried that the apparent neglect by successive administrations to fix the numerous deplorable roads in their community.

Vanguard had authoritatively gathered that within the eight years stewardship of the last administration, just two road projects were sited in Ajegunle by the administration. See story here

See the 114 roads below:

Some of the 114 roads to be constructed across the 57 Council Areas in Lagos