Having been nominated in two categories of this year’s prestigious Nigerian Sports Award, 2015 Afrobasket Most Valuable Player (MVP), Chamberlain Oguchi believes his consideration for the award has indeed humbled him.

Oguchi, who plies his trade with Anwil BasketballClub in the Tauron Basketball League of Poland, said his nomination showed that Nigerians really appreciate D’Tiger’s efforts to bring honours to Nigeria at the 2015 Afrobasket Championship.

Nigerian Basketball star, Chamberlain Oguchi displays the Afrobasket championship trophy.
Nigerian Basketball star, Chamberlain Oguchi displays the Afrobasket championship trophy.

“I am honoured and humbled to be nominated for Ball Sportsman of the Year and Sportsman of the Year. It would mean the world to win these awards. I want to thank the Nigerian publics for recognizing me, and I hope to wear these awards proudly in representation of the 170 million plus Nigerian inhabitants as well as Nigerians across the world,” he said.

He also lauded the organizers of the Nigerian Sports Award for the initiative to recognize and reward athletes that have done Nigeria proud across the globe.

Oguchi and 2014 ITTF Star Player, Aruna Quadri are both nominated for the Ball Sports Award and the Sportsman of the Year award while Oguchi will also be competing against his teammate, Olumide Oyedeji in the Ball Sports category alongside Quadri.

The Coach of the National Men’s Basketball team, William Voight will be competing with Are Feyisetan, Nigerian Powerlifting Coach and the Women Cycling Coach, Bashir Mohammed for the Coach of the Year category.

Nigerian Wrestler, Boltic Sinivie, tackles Efe Ajagba (Boxer) and Henry Hendrix (Kungfu) are the top three nominees for the  Combat Sport Person of the Year while Awoniyi Taiwo (Footballer),Kelechi Nwanaga (Javeline), Amusan Tobiloba (Hurdles) topnominations for the Discovery of the Year category.

In the Football category, Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie and Ngozi Okobiare contesting for the Footballer of the Year (Women) category while OdionIghalo, Ahmed Musa and the top scorer, in the ongoing 2015 professional football league, Tunji Adeniji are the top nominees for the Footballer of the Year (Men).

World record breakers at the just concluded African Games, YakubuAdesokan, Loveline Obiji, will slug it out with Lovina Onyegbule for the Special Sport Person of the Year while the President of the Nigerian Wrestling Federation, Daniel Igali battles Director General of the NationalSports Commission, Yakmut Alhassan for the Sports Administrators of the Year category.

weightlifter, Balqis Otunla tackles Loveline Obiji and Lovina Onyegbule for the Sports Woman of the Year award while Yakubu Adesokan, Chamberlain Oguchi and ArunaQuadri are the top three nominees for the Sports Man of the Year.


Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.