By Laide Akinboade-Orire

The Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has announced the cut-off mark for admission into all tertiary institutions in Nigeria.

JAMB, and stakeholders in education sector,  Tuesday met in Abuja to set the cut off  mark for 2015\2016 admission into tertiary institutions in the country. It was announced for 2015\2016 admission, cut off would be 180 for degree courses and 150 for non-degree courses. And all admission process must be concluded by 31st of October, 2015.

At the 2015 combined policy meeting on admissions to degree, National Certificate of Education, NCE and National Diploma, ND, Awarding institutions, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Dr MacJohn Nwaobiala, while declaring open the meeting said as stakeholders in education sector everybody have a role to play in the development of education in the country.

According to the Permanent Secretary, “So what we did today is to ensure that we clearly agree on the procedures and timeline and other issues relating to admission in our tertiary institutions. And the most important is that we have agreed on a deadline, when admission would be completed. We agreed that all admission process should be completed by 31st of October, 2015. Very importantly we also agreed on a cut-off mark, just like last year, for degree awarding courses it was agreed 180 marks and for non degree awarding courses 150 marks. Admission would be based on ration 60:40 in favour of science courses to Art courses and ration 70:30 for courses in Technology and non technology courses respectively”.

Nwaobiala, also called on institutions to ensure they adhere to  instruction on the cut-off marks and deadline for completing admission processes.

Meanwhile,  the JAMB Registrar, Professor Dibu Ojerinde, while presenting his paper, accused 15 universities, 15 Polytechnics and 15 Colleges of Education of regularization of admission in 2014 admission process; he warned all tertiary institutions to henceforth stop admitting such students.

The institutions he accused included,University of Port-Harcourt with 4,132 candidates, Ladoke Akintola University Of Technology, Ogbomoso, 3,746, Delta State University, Abraka, 3,217, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa, 3,217, Lead City University, Ibadan, 1,873, Caritas University, Amorji-Nike, Enugu, 1,078, University Of Abuja, Abuja, 1,031, Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu, 943, Tai Solarin Univ. Of Education, Ijebu-Ode, 855, Tansain University Oba Anambra State 833, The Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro 832, University Of Calabar 760, Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara State 673, Madonna University, Okija 612, and Crescent University, Abeokuta 471candidates.

In Polytechnic Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna 5,510 candidates, Abia State Polytechnic,Aba 4,322 , Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja, 3,907 candidates, to mention a few of the schools.

In Colleges of Education, COE, the College Of Education, Nsukka, Enugu State 1,175 candidates, Umar Suleiman College Of Education, Gashua 1,058, Kano State College Of Education, Kano 951 candidates.

He warned, “With effect from 2015/2016 academic session, the Board will adequately sanction defaulters who seek for regularization of admissions. This is to ensure that our institutions complete their admissions within the period of admissions exercise”.

The JAMB boss also called on all institutions that admit Interim Joint Admission Board, IJMB, into 100 level instead of 200 level to henceforth stop it, “It has been discovered that some institutions admit holders of IJMB to 100 levels. This practice SHOULD STOP. Henceforth, all holders of IJMB results should be admitted into 200 levels of the programmes of their choices”.

Ojerinde said University of Ilorin has the highest number of candidates for first choice, with 105,032 candidates followed by University of Benin with 71,273 and Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka with 70,430 candidates.

He said over 1.4 million candidates took 2015 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.