Taraba State House of Assembly has inaugurated the  8th State House of Assembly and appointed Hon. Abel Peter Diah, representing Mbamga state constituency, as Speaker of the House after dissolving the 7th Assembly on Tuesday 2nd of June.

The choice of Peter Diah as the Speaker was nominated by the member representing Lau state constituency, Hon. Joseph Albasu Kunini, and the nomination was seconded by Barr. Hosea Ibi member, representing Takum I.

Peter Diah’s nomination, as a speaker was unopposed.

The member representing Takum II and the recent past speaker of the House, Dr. Mark Useni, nominated Hon. Danladi Gwampo as the deputy speaker, the nomination was also seconded by the member representing Ibi Hon. Muhamed Abdukareen.

Gwampo’s nomination was also not opposed and he was inaugurated as the deputy speaker of the State House of Assembly.

In his short speech after inauguration, the speaker Taraba state house of assembly Hon. PeterAbel Diah thanks the members for having confidence in him and the deputy to lead the state assembly.

Diah said the 8th Assembly would first of all focus on means that would return peace in Taraba among ethnics and tribes.

He also promised that open door policy would be priority of his leadership despite the existence of deferent political parties at the house of assembly.

He said the 8 assembly was committed to extend the hand of fellowship to the executive arm of the state for speedy development.

“The era of politics and campaign is over, is time to work for development of the state and we must come together as one to achieve the result” the speaker stated.

He also announced that the member representing Lau Hon. Joseph Albasu Kunini was selected as Majority leader of the House by People Democratic Party. PDP.

PDP has 17 members in the House while opposition has 7 making 24 members at the Taraba state House of Assembly.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.