Breaking News

Umeh cries foul, rejects INEC result on Anambra

By Chimaobi Nwaiwu, Nnewi.

The National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, Chief Victor Umeh Monday night declared that contrary to INEC declaration that PDP won the three Senatorial seats in the zone,his party APGA won the three seats and has rejected the result declared by INEC, for allegedly being concocted.

Chief Umeh who is also the APGA Senatorial Candidate for Anambra Central Senatorial Zone said “from the Polling booths results collated, by our agents across the Senatorial Zone, APGA candidates won the election convincingly.

APGA National Chairman, Victor Umeh
APGA National Chairman, Victor Umeh

He said “the results that were announced by INEC had no relationship with polling booths results generated during the exercise on Saturday and we therefore, reject the result of the National Assembly election declared by INEC in Anambra State, and Anambra Central in particular”.

Chief Umeh who addressed newsmen in his Aguluzigbo home,was flanked during the news conference by Hon. Ferdinand Dozie Nwankwo, Hon. Godson Ezenagu, Hon Ifeany Ibezi, all APGA candidates for Federal House of Representatives for Anambra Central Senatorial zone and the Director of his campaign organization Mr. Chuka Obele Chuka, said as early as 5am Monday morning he got a call that winners have been declared by INEC.

“From the process of collation we are used to, if INEC had decided to collate Ward results and Local Government results before the Constituency collation for the declaration of the results, INEC will be still doing that duty by this 4.30 pm I am speaking.

“But surprisingly, by 5.30am they have started announcing winners of the Senatorial election across the three Senatorial Zones in Anambra State, the greatest shock I received was that the PDP candidates in Anambra State have been declared winner and in my Senatorial Zone they awarded the PDP candidate 101,548 votes, while I was said to have polled 77,000 and some fractions of votes in the exercise.Capture8

“We are in possession of the polling booths results, which showed clearly that we won the election, all of us in APGA won the National Assembly election with very good margin, we will therefore, do according to the law by going to the tribunal to challenge the result INEC announced, we are going to the tribunal to challenge the declaration, we will recover our victory from the court.

“The fraud they unleashed on us cannot withstand any pressure at the tribunal at all, so since we have the result of the election I want to advice the way I did in 2013 that our people should remain calm, they should not destroy anything knowing the result of the election showed that we won the election, we will take the result to the court to recover our victory” he said.

According to Chief Umeh, “those declarations and figures were concocted in the night at the various centers by INEC officials for the purpose of quickly announcing PDP candidate winner, without any build up process from the Ward collation, Local Government collation and Constituency collation before declaration of results will be made”.

“In order words INEC just wrote the figures and credited PDP candidate code numbers to enable them announce that they have won, so that they will go back and begin to build figures for Polling booths, Polling units, Ward collation and Local Government collation, so it was a hurried action, they did not complete the process before declaring these people winners with manufactured figures” he said.

The APGA National Chairman said, “nevertheless, we did very well by getting all the Form EC 8 A, that is Polling booths results in all the Polling units in the Anambra Central Senatorial Zone, and while the Polling units results were being compiled, our agents were translating the results and copying them down across the polling units”.

“From the Polling booths results collated, by our agents across the Senatorial Zone, I won the Senatorial election, convincingly, Dozie Nwankwo won the Anaocha, Dunukofia, Njikoka Federal Constituency, Godson Ezanagu won in Awka North and South Federal Constituency, while Ifeanyi Ibezi won Idemili North and South Federal Constituency elections respectively .

“Four of us have completely rejected the result declared by INEC because the figure they manufactured to announce PDP candidate winner bear no relationship with the polling booths results established during the exercise on Saturday” he said.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.