Benin – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Edo Sunday night declared Mr Clifford  Ordia of PDP winner of  the  Edo Central  senatorial district.

INEC returning officer, Dr Francis Abiegue, who announced the results also declared PDP candidates,  Mr Joe Edionwele and Mr Segius  Oguns as winners of the House of Representatives seats.

Abiegue said Ordia got 84,782 votes to defeat his closest rival, Francis Inegbeneki  of All Progressives Congress (APC), who got 46,820 votes.

He said Oguns received 33,891 votes to defeat APC’s Onikolese Irabor who scored 14,348 votes to clinch the Esan North East/Esan South East Federal constituency seat.

The returning officer said Edionwele scored 36,075 votes to beat APC candidate, Gideon Obhakhan, who got 23,825 votes in the Esan West/Esan Central and Igueben Federal Constituency seat election.

In Edo North, INEC returning officer Mr Adebayo Adedeji declared APC candidate, Mr Philip Shaibu winner of Estako Federal Constituency with 42,019 votes. He beat the PDP candidate, Abbas Braimoh who got 29,964 votes.

In Owan Federal Constituency, Mr Pally Iriase of APC scored 26, 606 to retain the Owan seat. His closest rival was Ambrose Imode of PDP who scored 21,069 votes.

In Akoko Edo Federal Constituency, the returning officer, Mr Alliu Momodu, declared APC candidate, Mr Peter Aphatasin with 19, 006 votes the winner.

His closest rival was Bankola Balogun of the PDP who scored 16,680 votes.

In Edo North Senatorial district, Mr Francis Alimikhena of the APC scored 86, 021 votes to defeat Mr Pascal Ugbome of PDP who got 66,092 votes.

PDP wins Nasarawa North senatorial seat

 Akwanga, (Nasarawa State) – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Sunday declared Philip Gyunka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of Saturday’s National Assembly Election for Nasarawa North Senatorial District.

The commission also declared Rep. Emmanuel Umbugadu, also of PDP as winner of the Akwanga/Nasarawa-Eggon/Wamba Federal Constituency.

Umbugadu is the incumbent member representing the area.

INEC Returning Officer Awal Ibrahim, who declared the winners at Akwanga, said they scored the highest number of votes.

He said that Gyunka scored 32, 761 votes to defeat APC and APGA candidates who got 26, 340 and 32, 310 votes respectively.

The returning officer also said that  Umbugadu scored  63,016 votes to defeat his closes rival Mary Uwongulu of APC who got 32, 762.

 He said that the two candidates were declared winners in line with the provisions of the law, having scored the highest numbers of votes cast. (NAN)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.