Breaking News

Deputy Minority Whip retains Katsina South senatorial seat

Funtua (Katsina State) – Deputy Minority Whip, Abu Ibrahim (APC-Katsina), has been reelected for Katsina South senatorial seat.

He defeated Deputy Governor Abdullahi Garba of Katsina State of the PDP with 100,364 votes to 409,642 votes.

Announcing the result in Funtua on Monday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Hamza Mani, said 990,459 voters registered in the 11 local government areas of the zone while 590, 606 were accredited and 533, 726 voted in the 2015 election.

Meanwhile, former Chairman, Funtua Local Government Area and one time federal lawmaker, Alhaji Muntari Dandutse, was declared winner of Funtua/Dandume Federal constituency election on the platform of APC.

The Returning Officer, Hajia Bilkisu Shattima, returned Dandutse with 80,991 votes to defeat PDP’s candidate, Alhaji Abdulaziz Tijjani, who scored 9,253 votes.

Incumbent member representing Bakori/Danja federal constituency, Alhaji Amiru Tukur of the APC, won with 75,402 votes.

He defeated PDP’s candidate and former Director, Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA), Alhaji Ibrahim Ajiya, who obtained 24,930 votes.  

Alhaji Ibrahim Mahuta of the APC and the incumbent lawmaker representing Malumfashi/Kafur federal constituency also  retained his seat with 103, 422 votes.

He defeated the PDP candidate and former General Manager, Katsina State Television, Alhaji Abdulaziz Sanyari who scored 26,263 votes.

Alhaji Ibrahim Murtala of the APC defeated former Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Education, Dr Garba Matazu, of the PDP to win the Musawa/Matazu Federal constituency seat. (NAN)

Azare (Bauchi) – Sen. Suleiman Nazif of All Progressive Congress (APC), has won the Bauchi North Senatorial District seat.

Declaring the result in Azare, headquarters of the District on Monday, the INEC Returning Officer for the Senatorial election in the Zone, Dr Muhammed Adamu said that Nazif polled 197,919 votes, to beat his opponents, Alhaji Faruq Mustapha of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Okolo Jujiana of the NPPP, who scored 97,047 and 974 votes respectively.

In another development, Alhaji Ibrahim Muhammed-Baba of the All Progressive Congress (APC), has won the Katagum Federal Constituency House of Representatives election.

Returning Officer for the House of Representatives election in the constituency, Mohammed Mohammed, declaration on Monday in Azare that Muhammed-Baba polled 38,151 votes, to defeat his opponent, Alhaji Awalu Gwalabe of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 23,535 votes.

He described the election as the “most peaceful, free, fair and orderly ever conducted in the country.”

APC candidates win Bauchi Central District, Darazo/Ganjuwa Fed. Constituency

Darazo (Bauchi) March 30,2015 (NAN) The APC candidate for Bauchi Central Senatorial District, Malam Isa Hamma, has been declared winner of the just concluded senatorial election in the zone.

Declaring the result in Darazo on Monday, the District Collation Officer, Dr Mohammed Salisu, said Hamma scored 208,741 votes to defeat Sen. Abdul Ningi of the PDP, who scored 57,172 votes and Mr Inuwa Nasaru of MPPP, who polled 1010 votes.

Salisu said 272,964 votes were cast, out of which 266,923 were valid and 6041 invalid.

The APC candidate for Darazo/Ganjuwa Federal Constituency, Malam Haliru Jika, also emerged winner for the constituency, garnering 78,243 votes, to defeat four other candidates.

Almustapha Hamma of PDP emerged the runner-up with 13,413 votes, Kashim Mohammed of SDP polled 328 votes, Umar Abubakar of PDM secured 42 votes, while Mrs Hadiza Haruna scored 16 votes

APC wins Jigawa north-east senatorial seat

Hadejia (Jigawa) Alhaji Ubali Shitu of All Progressives Congress (APC), has emerged winner of the Jigawa north-east senatorial election.

Shitu won the election by defeating two other candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM).

Declaring the result, the Returning Officer, Prof. Adamu Usman, said Shitu scored 193,960 votes to win the election.

Usman said that Alhaji Ahmad Sarawa of the PDP polled 97,196 votes while Alhaji Ahmed Kaugama of the PDM scored 1,266 votes.

“The APC candidate scored the highest votes and returned elected in accordance with provisions of the Electoral Act.’’

NAN reports that Sarawa is the current Speaker of the Jigawa State House of Assembly.

The Jigawa north-east senatorial zone comprises eight local government areas including Auya, Birniwa and Guri, Kafin-Hausa, Kaugama, Kirikasamma, Malammadori and Hadejia.

APC wins senate, rep. seats in Katsina

Katsina (Katsina State), – The All Progressives Congress’ (APC) candidate, Alhaji Umar Ibrahim, has been declared winner of Katsina Central Senatorial zone in Katsina State.

Announcing the result in Katsina on Monday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Aminu Dalhat, said Ibrahim polled 375,360 votes to defeat his opponent of the PDP, Alhaji Lamis Dikko, who scored 77,323 votes.

PDM candidate, Alhaji Hamisu Gambo, scored 8,171 votes, while Alhaji Ahmed Sani-store of APGA got 6,001 votes.

The returning officer said that APC candidate, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored highest number of votes, was declared winner and returned elected.

Speaking to newsmen after the declaration, Ibrahim thanked God for the victory and assured that he would fulfil all the promises he made during his campaign.

The APC has won Safana/Batsari/Danmusa Federal Constituency seat.

The Returning Officer, Malam Shamsudeen Rabiu, said Alhaji Ahmad Dayyabu polled 30,998 votes to emerge winner while Alhaji Jamilu Danmusa of PDP came second with 3,905 votes. (NAN)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.